August 9

Jubilee candidates swept aside by UDA wave in Mt Kenya region

Thursday, August 11th, 2022 02:19 | By
Jubilee Party Headquarters PHOTO/COURTESY

The United Democratic Alliance (UDA) wave in Mount Kenya region has swept aside key allies of President Uhuru Kenyatta.

The Kenya Kwanza Alliance led by Deputy President William Ruto took the majority of the positions in the region with Jubilee taking home only two seats, one in Meru and the other in Nyandarua.

The alliance has reportedly scooped all the governor  positions in Central Kenya and two in the Upper Eastern, in Embu and Tharaka Nithi Counties.

In Meru, Kawira Mwangaza was said to be leading incumbent Governor Kiraitu Murungi and UDA candidate Mithika Linturi.

Among the bigwigs floored by the UDA wave are Leader of Majority in the National Assembly Amos Kimunya who lost his Kipipiri seat, Kanini Kega who doubles up as the Jubilee Director of Elections lost his Kieni seat, while Party Secretary General Jeremiah Kioni was defeated in Ndaragwa.

Yesterday, Kioni, Kimunya and Kega were among the leaders who conceded. Writing on their social media pages, they thanked the voters and the victors.

“To the people of Ndaragwa, it has been an honour to serve you as your MP. I accept the results with honour and contentment. Congratulations Hon George Gachagua,” Kioni said on his Twitter page.

Other Jubilee big shots to fall were Priscilla Nyokabi and Kabando wa Kabando both of whom were vying for the Nyeri senate seat.

Security committee

Outgoing Nyeri senator Ephraim Maina was said to be trailing Mutahi Kahiga as was Nyeri Town MP Ngunjiri Wambugu, who is a strong defender of the ruling party.

In Nyandarua county,  the incumbent Francis Kimemia was losing his Nyandarua gubernatorial position as was Laikipia’s Nderitu Muriithi.

In Kiambu, Peter Mwathi who chaired the powerful Security committee in Parliament, lost to Chege Kiragu, the man ousted in the last election.

In Ruiru, Simon King’ara (UDA) had wide lead over his closest rival Esther Gathogo (Jubilee) in the yet to be declared results while in Thika, UDA’s Alice Ng’ang’a was ahead of David Gakuyo of Jubilee.

In Kiambu Town, outgoing MP Jude Njomo (Jubilee) was trailing UDA’s Machua Waithaika while in Kiambaa, the incumbent Kawanjiku Njuguna (UDA) had opened a lead over Damaris Waiganjo of Jubilee.

Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa (UDA) had a strong lead over Jubilee’s Owen Gitau.

 In Juja, George Koimburi who is defending the seat on a UDA ticket was way ahead of Aloise Kinyanjui and Joseph Ng’ang’a ‘Mustard’ (Independent). County Woman Rep Gathoni Wamuchomba was also set to wrestle the Githunguri seat from Gabriel Kago ‘Wa Lydia’ from the votes so far tallied.

In Lari former MP Mburu Kahangara (UDA) was leading the incumbent Jonah Mburu (Jubilee) in most of the results received from polling centers.

In Gatundu South, UDA’s G.G. Kagombe had stolen the show from Jubilee’s Joyce Ngugi and five other contestants.

More on August 9