August 9

Kalonzo, Moi omitted from Raila’s powerful campaign lineup

Tuesday, May 24th, 2022 12:42 | By
Wiper leader Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka. PHOTO/Courtesy
Wiper leader Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka. PHOTO/Courtesy

Azimio la Umoja-One Kenya Alliance has left out One Kenya Alliance (OKA) principals Kalonzo Musyoka (Wiper) and Gideon Moi (KANU) out of Raila's powerful campaign team.

In a show depicting widening cracks in the Azimio camp, the opposition chief has appointed Kalonzo and Moi's rivals to take up positions that were seemingly reserved for the two.

In Ukambani region, perceived to be Kalonzo's political stronghold, Makueni Governor Profesor Kivutha Kubwana has been appointed to lead vote hunt in the three counties of Kitui, Machakos and Makueni. He will be assisted by Kitui South MP Rachel Nyama, former State House Head of Staff Nzioka Waita and former Water Minister Mutua Katuku. Others include Seth Kakusye, Mwenge Mutuse, Alex Nganga and Caleb Mutiso.

Kitui Governor Charity Ngilu, a political rival for Kalonzo, will head the first team of women vote hunters for Raila, which comprises of Beatrice Elachi, Rachel Shebesh, Rosa Buyu, Beatrice Askul, Fatuma Gedi and Judy Pareno.

In a surprising twist of events, in the Rift Valley team led by Stephen Tarus, KANU Secretary General Nick Salat has been appointed instead of Moi. In recent times, Moi has been a close associate of Kalonzo, while Salat has stuck with the Raila.

West Pokot Senator Samuel Poghisio, who is also a member of Moi's KANU party, has been appointed to help Raila woo Rift Valley voters for Raila Odinga.

In Nairobi, Raila has completely shunned Wiper stalwarts, appointing Tim Wanyonyi and Rachael Shebesh to head the team. This is despite the presence of Polycarp Igathe (Jubilee) and Professor Philip Kaloki (Wiper), who are the Governor and Deputy Governor candidates for Azimio in the city. Igathe has however been included in the team for Nairobi.

Peter Munya, Sabina Chege and Lee Kinyanjui will lead the votehunt in Mt Kenya region, in a team featuring Jamleck Kamau, Ephraim Maina, Ngunjiri Wambugu, Ndiiritu Muriithi, James Nyoro, Francis Kimemia, and Jeremiah Kioni. Others in the Mt Kenya team include Kabando Wa Kabando, Ruth Mwaniki, Damaris Waiganjo and Rubenson Kibiru among others.

In the national team, Raila and his running mate Martha Karua will show the way, with a team of 11 including Junet Mohammed, Peter Kenneth, Carol Karugu, Phillip Pande, Mishi Mboko, Opiyo Wandayi, Richard Onyonka, Babu Owino, Caleb Amisi, Maina Kamanda and Kanini Kega.

More on August 9