August 9

Keynan becomes longest serving MP after fifth re -election in Eldas

Monday, August 15th, 2022 04:00 | By
Adan Keynan MP-elect Adan Keynan receives election certificate. PHOTO/Courtesy
Adan Keynan MP-elect Adan Keynan receives election certificate. PHOTO/Courtesy

Adan Keynan is now the longest-serving Member of Parliament after he was elected for his fifth term.

Keynan (pictured) retained his Eldas seat on a Jubilee Party ticket after he beat closest rival Arale Boray of ODM. He polled 7,517, Boray, 6,838 and Salat Haji (UDA), 66. He is the only MP from Wajir County who has made it back to parliament with the other five losing to newcomers.

Born in 1968, Keynan joined active politics in 1997. He served Wajir West from 1997 to 2002, and then from 2007 to 2013.

He then moved to Eldas constituency, which was curved, from Wajir West. Keynan served as Eldas MP in the 11th Parliament and was then re-elected to serve the same constituency in the 12th parliament.

He has been joined by Samuel Moroto the long-serving MP for Kapenguria constituency who has been elected for a fourth term.

Moroto a career teacher and trade unionist, was first elected to Parliament in 2002, he however lost in 2007 but reclaimed the seat in 2012.

Other long-serving MPs have either been floored or moved to other political seats.

County governor

Former Kitutu Chache North who had served for four consecutive terms has lost to a newcomer, Japheth Nyakundi. Naomi Shaban who also has served for four terms, lost her Taveta Seat to John Bwire, Katoo Ole Metito who has served Kajiado North constituency for four terms moved to the Kajiado gubernatorial and lost to incumbent Joseph Lenku.

Others are former Siaya senator James Orengo who has been elected as the county governor having served as the MP for Ugenya for two terms and senator for another two.

Former Vihiga Senator George Khaniri lost to incumbent Wilbur Otichilo in the gubernatorial position. Khaniri has been in parliament for four consecutive terms.

Victor Munyaka who has held the Machakos Town seat for 15 years lost to Caleb Mutiso.

Aden Duale has served Garissa Township constituency for three uninterrupted terms. Duale served as a representative of the Dujis constituency in the National Assembly since the 2007 polls.

Francis Chachu Ganya who has since retired from active politics served as North Horr constituency for four consecutive terms.

More on August 9