Sanaa Theatre Awards 2019 calls for submissions

By Elly Gitau
Thursday, November 28th, 2019

The sixth edition of the annual Sanaa Theatre Awards is welcoming entries to be considered by the jury for nomination.

Performances must have been between November 21, 2018, and December 8, 2019, and must be submitted through its official email address [email protected].

As one of the rules, pictures of performances and individual nominees, and text detailing the production (including cast, crew, dates as well as venues of performances) should accompany the entries.

The nominees announced by the jury in each category shall be subjected to public voting and jury scores.

Winners will be announced at the Sanaa Theatre Awards Gala at the Kenya National Theatre on December 17, 2019, a ceremony expected to be graced by Deputy President William Ruto.

The awards, founded in 2013 by George Orido recognise excellence in the field of theatre and the performing arts in Kenya.

Below is the full list of the categories.

• Best Actor

• Best Actress

• Best Actress in a Supporting Role

• Best Actor in a Supporting Role

• Best Director

• Best Playwright

• Best Set Light and Sound Design

• Best Costumes

• Best Production

• Best Comedy

• Best Tragedy

• Best Musical Theatre

• Best Dance Theatre

• Best Play in English

• Best Play in Kiswahili

• Best Play In a Foreign Language

• Best Play In a Local Language

• Best Production On Governance And Human Rights - Martin Luther King Junior Award

• Best Production On Reproductive Health

• Best Production On Child Rights And Protection

• Best Production On Women Rights And Gender-Based Violence - Maya Angelou Award

• Best Spoken Word and Poetry - Rosa Parks Award

• Best Production Of TV Comedy Recorded Before A Live Audience

• Best Comedian On TV – Male

• Best Comedian On TV – Female

• Best Producer

• Best Theatre, Art and Culture Writer

• Best TV Art Culture News Magazine

• Best Art and Culture Magazine / Newspaper

• Best All-time Supporting Institution

• Best Supporting Individual

• Best Performing Theatre Space

• Most Improved Theatre Space

• Lifetime Achievement Award

• Best Production Primary School

• Best Production Secondary School

• Best Production College and University – Prof Chris Wanjala Award

• Best Narrative Theatre

• Best Live Music Performance - Daniel Pearl Award

• Best Supporting County

• Distinguished Diaspora Award – Owiso Odera Award