Inside Politics

Azimio picks Opiyo Wandayi as Majority Leader, Junet as Majority Whip in Parliament

Saturday, September 17th, 2022 15:53 | By
ODM leader Raila Odinga (centre) with leaders who paid him a visit yesterday. PD/Emmanuel Wanson
ODM leader Raila Odinga (centre) with leaders who paid him a visit. PHOTO/Emmanuel Wanson

The Azimio One Kenya Coalition party has picked lawmakers who will occupy house leadership positions in the National Assembly and the Senate.

Speaking at the coalition's parliamentary group meeting, Wiper party leader Kalonzo Musyoka unveiled the names of the MPs who will steer their teams in the bicameral parliament.

Kalonzo stated that the political formation legally and legitimately commands a majority in the National Assembly.

"For the avoidance of doubt, the Azimio OKA coalition party is legally and legitimately the majority coalition in the National Assembly. This is not a matter for determination by any individual or office. It is simple arithmetic. So to settle this matter and put the record straight once and for all, MPs from the Azimio coalition party have been properly advised to take up majority roles and responsibilities in and out of the National Assembly chambers," Kalonzo said.

Kalonzo unveils MPs, Senators picked for House leadership positions

Ugunja MP Opiyo Wandayi will take up the majority leader position. Wandayi will be deputized by Kathiani MP Robert Mbui.

The coalition has settled on Suna East MP Junet Mohammed as the majority whip with nominated MP Sabina Chege as his deputy.

In the senate, Kalonzo stated that they are cognizant of the fact that they are the minority and have therefore settled on senators to occupy the minority leadership benches,

Kilifi Senator Stewart Madzayo has been settled on as the minority leader with Kitui Senator Enoch Wambua as his deputy.

The coalition also picked Isiolo Senator Fatuma Dullo as the minority whip with Nairobi Senator Edwin Sifuna as her deputy.

More on Inside Politics