Inside Politics

Beleaguered Migori Speaker Likowa throws in towel

Tuesday, May 28th, 2024 02:30 | By
Owino Likowa
Outgoing Migori County Assembly Speaker Charles Owino Likowa. PHOTO/Print

Besieged Migori County Assembly speaker Charles Owino Likowa has finally opted out of office after unsuccessful frantic attempts to overturn the assembly’s impeachment.

In a sudden turn of events, Likowa retracted his earlier threats to seek legal redress and dropped the  conservatory orders that barred the assembly from replacing him thus paving a way for election of a new speaker.

He had earlier sought an order from the Kisumu based Employment and Labor Relations Court on April 30, restraining the assembly from ejecting him from office pending the determination of his case. Justice Stephen Radido granted the conservatory orders.

It was after a “thorough soul searching deep consideration” that he decided to relax his case.

He however maintained that the impeachment tag was withdrawn and “I still remain the speaker until after my successor is elected and sworn in,” he said on phone.

“They are young and they feel it’s high time the younger generation to scale the heights of such positions, that I agree.”

Overwhelming rejection

He was impeached by 59 out of 60 MCAs on April 23 and was replaced by his deputy David Chacha on an acting capacity.

However, a court barred Chacha from holding the position forcing the MCAs to pick Kaler ward representative Thomas Akungo as acting Speaker.

Assembly Clerk Vincencia Kioge then declared the position vacant and called on potential applicants to fill the vacancy ahead of fresh elections scheduled for today.

 “Notice id given that pursuant to the resolution made on 23rd April by Members of the county Assembly in exercising their rights under Section 11(C) of the County Government Act 2012, a sitting of the  assembly shall be held on the 28th May at the assembly chambers starting from 9am…” read the notice in part.

“...At that sitting, the speaker of Migori County assembly will be elected in accordance with Article 178 of the constitution of Kenya 2010…” the notice further read.

The succession race has so far attracted over 10 contenders who include former Suna West MP Joseph Ndiege,Nairobi based Lawyer Francis Ndar, former Migori Assembly speaker Boaz Okoth, Migori based Clergy Walter Ogwada, County Water and Energy executive Christopher Rusana and his former Finance and Economic Planning coutepart Tom Kasera.

Others are Migori Municipality chair Mandela Omondi, Former Environmnet executive Eliabeth Ochae, Former Deputy speaker George Omamba, Nairobi Businessman Peter Jobando and activist Isaac Aluochier.

More on Inside Politics