Inside Politics

Kanini Kega, Sabina Chege expelled as Jubilee lines up new NEC members

Monday, May 22nd, 2023 13:02 | By
Former President Uhuru Kenyatta at Jubilee NDC
Former President Uhuru Kenyatta at Jubilee NDC. PHOTO/Courtesy

The Jubilee Party has nominated new members to its National Executive Committee (NEC) to replace rebel members who have joined the Kenya Kwanza coalition.

Among the nominated members of the new NEC include Beatrice Gabo (deputy party leader strategy), Maoka Maore (deputy party leader operations), David Manje (deputy party leader operations), Kados Muiruri (deputy party leader outreach), Saitoti Torome (chairman), Yasin Noor (deputy secretary general), Pauline Njoroge (deputy organizing secretary), Jamleck Kamau (national director of elections), Maison Leshoomo (national women’s league chairperson), Agnes Thumbi (national youth league leader) and Nderitu Mureithi (business council leader).

"We had our last NDC on February 26, 2022. During that NDC, we resolved that we would be members of the Azimio coalition and terminated all forms of cooperation with UDA," Jubilee secretary general Jeremia Kioni said.

Sabina Chege, who serves as the deputy minority whip in the National Assembly was also removed from the position and replaced with Embakasi West MP Mark Mwenje.

More on Inside Politics