Inside Politics

Kenya Kwanza picks Kimani Ichungwa as Majority Leader, Silvanus Osoro as Majority Whip

Saturday, September 17th, 2022 16:31 | By
President William Ruto PHOTO/Courtesy

Kenya Kwanza coalition has picked Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichungwah as the National Assembly Majority Leader. South Mugirango MP Silvanus Osoro will be the coalition's Majority Whip.

Kilifi North MP Owen Baya will deputize Ichungwah as Marsabit Woman Representative Naomi Waqo takes up the Deputy Majority Whip position.

In the Senate, the ruling coalition has picked Kericho senator Aaron Cheruiyot as the Majority Leader.

Cheruiyot will be deputized by Nakuru Senator Tabitha Karanja alias Keroche.

Kakamega Senator Boni Khalwahle will occupy the Majority Whip position with Samburu Senator Lelegwe Ltumbesi as his deputy.

Azimio lays claim to National Assembly majority leadership positions

The unveiling of the Kenya Kwanza parliamentary leadership comes against the backdrop of Azimio's unveiling of its house leadership.

Just like their Kenya Kwanza counterparts, the Azimio coalition party has laid claim to the majority leadership positions. The political formation insists that they are the legal and legitimate majority side in the National Assembly.

Speaking at Azimio's parliamentary group meeting, Wiper Party leader Kalonzo Musyoka stated that the coalition deserves to occupy the majority benches.

"For the avoidance of doubt, the Azimio OKA coalition party is legally and legitimately the majority coalition in the National Assembly. This is not a matter for determination by any individual or office. It is simple arithmetic. So to settle this matter and put the record straight once and for all, MPs from the Azimio coalition party have been properly advised to take up majority roles and responsibilities in and out of the National Assembly chambers," Kalonzo said.

More on Inside Politics