Inside Politics

Parliament sets date for electing EALA nominees

Wednesday, November 16th, 2022 13:10 | By
Parliament sets date for electing EALA nominees
Parliament in session PHOTO/Courtesy

The National Assembly has approved a Special Sitting on Thursday, November 17, 2022, to vote on nine members to represent Kenya in the East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Clerk of the National Assembly Samuel Njoroge and his Senate counterpart Jeremiah Nyengenye said the two Houses of Parliament are expected to settle on five members from the Kenya Kwanza Alliance and four from the Azimio la Umoja One Kenya coalition.

"It is notified for the general information of the public that Rule 15 (1) of the East African Legislative Assembly Elections (Election of Members of the Assembly) Rules, 2017, provides that the presiding officers, who are the Clerks of the National Assembly and the Senate, shall, by notice published in the Kenya Gazette and in at least two newspapers of national circulation, appoint a date and venue for the holding of the election by the respective Houses of Parliament, which shall be not more than fourteen
(14) days after the nomination day," the two clerks said in a gazette notice on November 16.

"Pursuant to Rule 15 (1) of the East African Legislative Assembly Elections (Election of Members of the Assembly) Rules, 2017, we, the Presiding Officers, appoint Thursday, 17th November 2022, as the
election day. The elections shall be held at 10.00 a.m. in the National Assembly Chamber and at 9.30 a.m. in the Senate Chamber, respectively, Main Parliament Buildings, Nairobi," the gazette notice added.

EALA nominees

Nominees fronted by Kenya Kwanza Alliance include; former Mombasa Senator Hassan Omar, former nominated Member of Parliament (MP) David Sankok, former Nandi Woman Representative Zipporah Kering, Rebecca Lewoiya, Godfrey Karobia, Joel Nyambane, Fredrick Muteti, Falhadha Dekow, Abdikadir Omar, Anne Too, Jonas Kuko, Cyprian Iringo, Lilian Cheptoo, Yasser Ali and Salim Mohammed.

Azimio camp has submitted 12 names including; Raila Odinga's daughter Winnie Odinga, Kalonzo Musyoka's son Kennedy Kalonzo, Winfred Mutua, Hellen Ndeti, Suleiman Shahbal, Justus Kizito, Mohammed Diriye, Beatrice Askul, Timothy Bosire, Kanini Kega, Jeremiah Kioni and Fatuma Gedi.

More on Inside Politics