Inside Politics

President Uhuru formally appoints four commissioners, fills vacant positions at IEBC

Thursday, September 2nd, 2021 08:01 | By
President Uhuru Kenyatta. Photo/PD/PSCU

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed four IEBC commissioners approved by Parliament.

In Gazette notice dated September 1, Irene Masit, Justus Nyang’aya, Juliana Cherera and Francis Wanderi were formally appointed to the electoral body.

Justice and Legal Affairs Committee of the National Assembly on Wednesday gave the four a clean bill of health and forwarded their names to President Uhuru for an appointment.

The four replace former IEBC Vice-Chairperson Consolata Nkatha, commissioners Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat and Roselyn Akombe who quit office.

Nkatha, Mwachanya and Kurgata resigned in a joint press conference on April 16, 2018, citing personal differences with IEBC chair Wafula Chebukati.

Akombe on the other hand resigned in the run-up to 2017 repeat presidential elections citing the commission's inability to conduct transparent and credible elections.

After their swearing-in, the IEBC will now be fully constituted to discharge its mandate.

Chief Justice Martha Koome will swear in the new appointees.

More on Inside Politics