Inside Politics

Tharaka Nithi: Journalist to face off with lawyers in race for Speaker’s post

Wednesday, August 24th, 2022 12:54 | By
Tharaka Nithi County Assembly
Members of the second Tharaka-Nithi County Assembly pose for a photo outside their chambers. PHOTO/ Blaise Gitonga

Veteran journalist Alex Njeru is among the candidates seeking to become the third Speaker of the County Assembly of Tharaka Nithi.

The Nation correspondent will battle it out with, among others, legal practitioners and former county officials from across the county for the coveted job.

Political pundits say Njeru, who hails from Marimanti in Tharaka Constituency, has political odds in his favour since the position has been on rotation based on the three constituencies in the county.

Tharaka Nithi's 3rd Assembly

The analysts argue that the 3rd Assembly is bound to appoint a speaker from Tharaka Constituency after the first Speaker John Mbabu and the second David Mbaya John came from Chuka/Igambang’ombe and Maara constituencies respectfully.

Lawyers Peter Kaimba and Muthomi Gitari, former Mayor and first Speaker of the County Assembly of Tharaka Nithi John Mbabu and former Tharaka Nithi Deputy Governor Mati Murithi are among notable figures eyeing the seat.

According to Article 178(1) of the Constitution of Kenya, each county assembly shall have a speaker elected by the county assembly from among persons who are not members of the assembly.

In the just concluded August 9 polls, ten of the fifteen elected MCA’s are from the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party while two were elected on The Service Party (TSP) ticket. Three were elected on an independent ticket.

According to sources, intense lobbying by candidates to elected MCAs has been witnessed in the county, with each candidate seeking to cement their bid before the first assembly sitting when the MCAs are set to cast their vote.

The Speaker is the head of the Assembly and the chairperson of the County Assembly Service Board and is charged with the responsibility of ensuring the smooth running of the legislative arm of the County Government.

More on Inside Politics