Boost for Kuria’s Juja candidate as contestant withdraws in his favour

By , People Daily Digital
Tuesday, May 18th, 2021 00:00 | 2 mins read
Juja constituency IEBC officials make final preparations yesterday ahead of today’s by-election. Photo/PD/Mathew Ndung’u

The battle for the Juja parliamentary seat yesterday narrowed down to a two-horse race pitting supporters of the Jubilee Party against allies of Deputy President William Ruto.

The ruling party, which is fielding the late MP Francis Waititu’s widow, Susan Njeri  is facing stiff challenge from George Koimburi, who is sponsored by People’s Empowerment Party of Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria, an ally of the Deputy President.

Yesterday, one of the candidates John Njoroge of the Peoples Party of Kenya pulled out of the race  in support of Koimburi.

 “I decided to withdraw from the race and support Koimburi because the people of Juja told me they preferred his candidature.

I was not bought and I’m asking my supporters to come out and vote for him,” said Njoroge. 

Kuria, while welcoming Njoroge’s defection stated: “This is a big boost to our candidate and increases our chances greatly because he has the support of the youth.” 

He told Jubilee leaders led by Kiambu Governor James Nyoro to keep off the constituency during the polls.

“We have asked leaders supporting our candidate to stay away and we expect Jubilee to do the same,” the MP said.

“I appreciate assurances by IEBC and security officers that the election will be free and fair, but we are apprehensive because previous assurances were not honoured,” he added. 

Complete projects

Poor roads, scarcity of water and inadequate healthcare facilities are some of the issues that have been raised by residents as well as the aspirants.

 Also in the race are Ken Gachuma of National Liberal Party, Anthony Kirori (Maendeleo Chap Chap) and James Marungo who is vying as an independent contestant and former radio presenter Zulu Thiong’o (Independent).

 Dr Joseph Gichui, 29, vying on an independent ticket, is the youngest contestant. Others are Moses Mwenda (Independent), Kariuki Chege (Independent) and Eunice Wanjiru (The New Democrats). 

Recommended Stories