Cherargei challenges Raila, Kalonzo to let their children in EALA lead upcoming Azimio demos

Friday, December 2nd, 2022 18:57 | By
Senator Cherargei: Azimio members should not be offered PS jobs
Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei at a past event. PHOTO/File

Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei has challenged Azimio la Umoja One Kenya coalition supremos Raila Odinga and Kalonzo Musyoka to front their children to lead in the mass actions against the Kenya Kwanza administration.

Through a statement shared via his official Twitter account, the lawmaker opined that the leaders should allow their spouses as well as their children who have been elected as EALA MPs (Winnie Odinga and Kennedy Musyoka) to lead in the demonstrations instead of the youth.

"Tinga public consultations simply means maandamano/demos, for police to give him permit Winnie Odinga and Kennedy Musyoka plus their spouses must be in those maandamanos before using our youth. Tinga is cannibalising himself at 1000% rate to oblivion and irrelevance!" he wrote.

Earlier, Raila had vowed to go on nationwide rallies to protest the plot to kick out the four embattled Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners from office.

The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) leader noted that the rally will begin at Kamukunji grounds on December 7, before extending to other counties across the country.

"We are witnessing the emergence of a darker form of dictatorship than what we witnessed under KANU. We in Azimio are here to let Kenyans know that with the benefit of history we are hoping to protest and resist much more strongly than we did in 2007 because we now know how wrong this can go if we don't stop it now," Raila stated.

He added: "We appeal to Kenyans to get us right and clear that this is not about the four commissioners this is about the 2027 elections that could go terribly wrong if we let the Ruto administration get away with the fire they are lighting."

The former premier was speaking during a press conference on Friday, December 2, 2022.

Prior to that, President William Ruto had appointed a nine-member tribunal to investigate the commissioners who disputed presidential results announced by IEBC chair Wafula Chebukati.

The head of state stated that the tribunal would be chaired by High Court judge Aggrey Muchelule with the lead counsel as Peter Munge Murage, who will be assisted by Zamzam Abdi Abib.

Other members of the tribunal listed were Carolyne Kamende Daudi, Linda Gakii Kiome, Mathew Njaramba Nyabena and Col. (Rtd.) Saeed Khamis Saeed.

Kibet Kirui Emmanuel and Irene Tunta were named as joint secretaries of the tribunal.

"The mandate of the Tribunal shall be to consider the Petition for the removal of (1) Juliana Whonge Cherera, (2) Francis Mathenge Wanderi, (3) Irene Cherop Masit and (4) Justus Abonyo Nyang’aya from office as members of Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) and to inquire into the allegations therein," President Ruto said.

More on News