Confusion at Nairobi Assemby as UDA claims majority status

Friday, October 14th, 2022 06:20 | By
Confusion at Nairobi Assemby as UDA claims majority status
United Democratic Alliance (UDA) Secretary General Veronica Maina says this is the party’s position. PD/file

Confusion has once again rocked the Nairobi County Assembly after President William Ruto-led United Democratic Alliance (UDA) claimed to be the Majority party in the house.

In a letter written by UDA Secretary General Veronica Maina, dated October 12, 2022, and copied to the Speaker, the party named its leadership in the assembly, even as Azimio la Umoja claimed it is the Majority Party at the Assembly.

UDA named Waithaka MCA Antony Kiragu as the Majority leader, to be deputised by South B MCA Waithera Chege. Umoja One MCA Mark Mugambi is to be the Majority Whip and Nominated MCA Joyce Muthoni is the deputy. Mlango Kubwa MCA Susan Makungu has been nominated to the County Assembly Service Board.

The party also named Kawangware MCA Fredrick Njogu to the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) while his counterpart Jeremiah Themendu from Kayole Central is to go to the Public Investments Committee (PIC).

The development came as  Azimio la Umoja coalition named Makongeni MCA Peter Imwatok as the Majority leader, to be deputised by Laini Saba MCA John Musila. Kilimani MCA Moses Ogeto is to serve as Majority Whip, deputised by Elijah Stazo (Upper Savannah). Azimio has at least 67 MCAs while Kenya Kwanza has 53 MCAs.

Three of the MCAs are independents and Embakasi Ward is yet to elect their representative.

Nairobi County Assembly has around 23 committees, including the House Business Committee, which is normally chaired by the Speaker. The majority party is expected to chair all committees, apart from two — PAC and PIC, which are reserved for the Minority party.

More on News