Coronavirus: Kenya closes borders with Somalia and Tanzania as cases reach 830

Saturday, May 16th, 2020 16:18 | By
President Uhuru Kenyatta. Photo/PSCU

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Saturday announced the closure of Kenya borders with Somalia and Tanzania over coronavirus. The Head of State only exempted cargo vehicles in the closure that is expected to take effect Saturday midnight.

Seeing that 43 of the recent coronavirus cases are imported, the President banned foreigners who test positive for Covid-19 from entering the country.

Against the wishes of many people, Mr. Kenyatta also extended the dusk to dawn curfew for another 21 days.

"The curfew has been extended for further 21 days up until June 6, 2020," he said at State House Nairobi.

Cessation of movement in the five counties (Nairobi, Kilifi, Kwale, Mandera and Mombasa) also extended by another 21 days until June 6.

Many Kenyans hoped that Mr. Kenyatta would ease the curfew and movement in the country to save the economy that is now in crisis.

"The whole world is walking through the valley of the shadow of death," said Mr. Kenyatta.

Coronavirus Situation

Kenya announced 49 new infections, bringing the total number to 830. So far 50 people have died in the country and 301 have recovered.

The president noted with grief that close to a third of Covid-19 deaths in the country have occurred at people's homes.

Currently, there are 481 people undergoing treatment. Uhuru thanked the healthcare professionals for their dedication in eradicating Covid-19.

More on News