Drought response committee raises Ksh542M to aid in fight against hunger

Friday, December 2nd, 2022 16:17 | By
President William Ruto, his Deputy Rigathi Gachagua and Safaricom CEO Peter Ndegwa at State House on Friday, December 2, 2022. PHOTO/(@StateHouse)Twitter.

The National steering committee on Drought Response appointed by President William Ruto has raised Ksh542 million.

According to the committee's chair Safaricom CEO Peter Ndegwa, the amount raised is meant to purchase food for distribution and cash transfer in drought-stricken areas which have exposed more than four million Kenyans to hunger.

Major donors who contributed to the funds are; Cooperative Bank (Ksh150 million), Kenya Defense Forces (Ksh130 million), Equity (Ksh120 million), Kenya Commercial Bank (Ksh100 million), Diamond Trust Bank (Ksh20 million), Kenya China Economic & Trade Association (Ksh10 million), Dawoodi Bohri (Ksh10 million), Middle East Bank (Ksh2 million) and other deposits (Ksh29,588).

President Ruto, On Friday, December 2, 2022, lauded the committee for their efforts in contributions towards drought mitigation.

"This is beyond patriotism; we are indebted to you," he stated.

While acknowledging the committee's efforts, Ruto who was speaking at the State house, in Nairobi pledged that his administration would put more resources to help the Kenyans in need.

"To deal with climate change challenges we must have comprehensive short, medium and long-term plans," he added.

National steering committee

The private sector-led committee was established on November 21, 2022.

At the time, the head of state noted that the 15-member team led by Safaricom CEO Peter Ndegwa would help mobilise resources to alleviate the effects of drought which has affected more than 20 counties.

They were also tasked with establishing a private-sector-led National Drought Mitigation Appeal Fund to supplement the government's drought response program.

Apart from that, the Ndegwa-led committee was also mandated with the role of approving the opening and closing of bank accounts to be jointly operated by a representative from the private sector, the Kenyan government and the Kenya Red cross.

The members include; Member of the committee are Dr James Mwangi, CEO, Equity Bank Group Kenya PLC, Nasim Devji, CEO, Diamond Trust Bank, Shamaz Savani, CEO, African Banking Corporation Bank (ABC), Paul Rushdie Russo, CEO, Kenya Commercial Bank (KCB) Group Rebecca Mbithi, CEO, Family Bank Kenya Limited, Jane Karuku, CEO, East African Breweries Limited and Joshua Chepkwony, CEO, Jamii Telecommunication Limited

Other are Crispin Acholla, CEO, British American Tobacco, Dr Asha Mohammed – Secretary-General, Kenya Red Cross, Edwins Mukabanah, CEO, Kenya Bus Services Management, Patricia Mugambi Ndegwa, Impact Philanthropy Africa, Krishma Jitesh Chavda, ISHA Foundation, and Hared Hassan (Lt.) Col., National Drought Management Authority.

Murimi Murage of the Office of the Deputy President was named the steering committee’s Secretary.

More on News