FKF Electoral Board publishes final voter register

Monday, August 24th, 2020 00:00 | By
Head of FKF Electoral Board Kentice Tikolo. Photo/PD/RODGERS NDEGWA

Football Kenya Federation Electoral Board has published the final list of clubs eligible to vote at both the county and national levels in the upcoming FKF elections.

Release of the list comes after the lapse of a disputes’ resolution window last week. 

The Board will on Wednesday, August 26, 2020, publish the final register of delegates eligible to vote at both levels.

Aspirants seeking elective positions at the county level will, in the meantime, have two days, Tuesday, August 25, and Wednesday, August 26, 2020, to submit their nomination forms.

However a suit has been filed at the Sports Disputes Tribunal challenging the roadmap set out by the Electoral Board last week led by Kentice Tikolo. 

Some interested contestants have accused the board and FKF of working in tandem to frustrate the process of clean and fair elections.

They argued the electoral code has faults that have not been adequately addressed. 

The FKF Appeals Board sat last week Friday in a bid to listen to any complaints regarding the register and closed the process Saturday paving way for the publication of the list.

The list has teams from the Kenyan Premier League, National Super League, FKF Division One, FKF Women Premier League and FKF WPL Division One.

A total of 42 clubs have been listed to take in the process of national elections. 

“In consonance with the directive from Fifa and in the spirit of progression, the FKF electoral process shall be predicated upon the FKF Statutes, the FKF Electoral Code currently in force and/or the Fifa Statutes/guidelines where required or where applicable,” Tikolo stated.

In March 17, the Sports Disputes Tribunal cancelled the elections due to what was dubbed an improper electoral code that was not all inclusive but FKF and Fifa protested the move. 

County elections are set to be held on September 19, while national elections shall be held on October 17.

More on News