IEBC gazettes 39 nominated MCAs for Nairobi County Assembly

Tuesday, September 13th, 2022 14:32 | By
A photo file of Nairobi County Assembly. PHOTO/COURTESY
Nairobi County Assembly. PHOTO/Courtesy

Nairobi County Assembly will now have a total of 124 MCAs after the Independent Electoral and Boundaries (IEBC) gazetted a list of 39 nominated members.

The list includes a total of 37 women nominated MCAs and two males, representing the youth and the marginalized groups.

15 of the nominated MCAs are from the majority party, ODM, and another 15 are from the UDA party. Jubilee and Wiper parties nominated three and two members respectively.

The other four represent the special interest in the Assembly which includes ethnicity, the marginalized and the youth.

Azimio la Umoja - One Kenya coalition, which includes ODM, Jubilee and Wiper parties, will now have a total of 65 members being the majority in the House with Kenya Kwanza settling for the minority role with 52 members. Three MCAs in the House were elected on an independent ticket.

The number of seats allocated to each of the political parties is proportionate to the total seats won during the August 9 general election.

The Nairobi County Assembly now awaits Governor Johnson Sakaja's gazettement on when the first sitting will be held for the swearing-in and election of the House speaker.

The position of the speaker has attracted several candidates including ODM's Ken Ngondi, former Gender and Public Service CAS Rachael Shebesh, the incumbent Benson Mutura (UDA) and Jubilee's Harrison Wangoro.

More on News