Jubilee replaces 8 politicians who landed lucrative State jobs

Tuesday, November 21st, 2023 19:20 | By
Makau Mutua asks Kioni to resign from bipartisan talks team
Jubilee Secretary General Jeremiah Kioni during a past address. PHOTO/Jeremiah Kioni(@HonKioni)/X

The Jubilee party has instituted leadership changes in the National Executive Committee (NEC) to replace politicians who landed plum State jobs.

In a statement shared on Tuesday, November 21, 2023, the party announced that the changes effected by the party's NEC will replace eight officials.

"Indeed even the Constitution of Kenya 2010, Chapter 6 on Leadership and Integrity section 77, explicitly bars all state officials from holding any office in a political party. In this regard and by operation of law, the following Jubilee Party National Executive Members who have been appointed to and accepted various positions in government are deemed to have resigned from their positions in the party leadership," a statement by the party's Secretary-General Jeremiah Kioni reads in parts.

In the changes, Beatrice Gambo will take over as the Deputy Party leader (Outreach) following the exit of
Naomi Shaban.

Similarly, Joseph Manje will take over as the party's programs deputy leader replacing Peter Ole Mositet who landed a role as chairperson Namata.

At the same time, Jubilee announced that Saitoti Torome will succeed Nelson Dzuya as the party's national chairperson while Kados Muiruri replaced Angwenyi Jimmy Ondieki as the deputy party leader (strategy).

In the same breath, Yasir Noor will take over as the party's deputy secretary general replacing Joshua Kuttuny who was appointed as chairperson Kenya Copyright Board (KECOBO).

The same changes will also see Ndiritu Murrithi replace Joel Kibe as the national chairperson business council whereas digital strategist Pauline Njoroge replace Mutava Musyimi as the deputy national organizing secretary.

More on News