‘Kenyans have moved on’ – Muthama criticizes Raila over calls for mass action

Sunday, December 4th, 2022 12:00 | By
Johnson Muthama at a past event.
Johnson Muthama at a past event. PHOTO/Courtesy

United Democratic Alliance (UDA) chairman Johnson Muthama has castigated Azimo la Umoja One Kenya leader for calling for mass action over the ouster of the four embattled Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners.

In a statement shared via his Twitter account, Muthama urged Kenyans to shun Raila's attempts to cause 'disunity' in the country.

"Kenyans have moved on and are working hard to build the nation in peace. The Mass Action Raila has called for on 7th and 12th December 2022 is a clear indication that he has failed to reconcile himself with the reality of the times we are living in, where every effort must be directed towards uplifting the lives of those who occupy the bottom of economic pyramid," he wrote.

"I, therefore, call upon every Kenyan to shun his attempts to cause disunity in this country," he added.

Earlier, Raila had vowed to organize nationwide rallies in protest of the plot to kick out the four commissioners from office.

The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) leader noted that the rallies would begin with a meeting at the Kamukunji grounds on December 7, before extending to other counties across the country.

"We are witnessing the emergence of a darker form of dictatorship than what we witnessed under KANU. We in Azimio are here to let Kenyans know that with the benefit of history we are hoping to protest and resist much more strongly than we did in 2007 because we now know how wrong this can go if we don't stop it now," Raila stated.

He added: "We appeal to Kenyans to get us right and clear that this is not about the four commissioners this is about the 2027 elections that could go terribly wrong if we let the Ruto administration get away with the fire they are lighting."

The former premier was speaking during a press conference on Friday, December 2, 2022.

Prior to that, President William Ruto had appointed a nine-member tribunal to investigate the commissioners who disputed presidential results announced by IEBC chair Wafula Chebukati.

The head of state stated that the tribunal would be chaired by High Court judge Aggrey Muchelule with Peter Munge Murage as the lead counsel, who would be assisted by Zamzam Abdi Abib.

Other members of the tribunal listed were Carolyne Kamende Daudi, Linda Gakii Kiome, Mathew Njaramba Nyabena and Col. (Rtd.) Saeed Khamis Saeed.

Kibet Kirui Emmanuel and Irene Tunta were named as joint secretaries of the tribunal.

"The mandate of the Tribunal shall be to consider the Petition for the removal of (1) Juliana Whonge Cherera, (2) Francis Mathenge Wanderi, (3) Irene Cherop Masit and (4) Justus Abonyo Nyang’aya from office as members of Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) and to inquire into the allegations therein," President Ruto said.

More on News