Aladwa, Arama, Sudi top list of inactive MPs in latest report

Wednesday, August 9th, 2023 09:55 | By
Aladwa, Arama, Sudi top list of inactive MPs in latest report
Collage of MPs George Aladwa, Samuel Arama and Oscar Sudi. [PHOTOS/Courtesy]

One year after Kenyans went to the polls to elect their representatives some members of parliament are yet to make any contribution in the 13th Parliament, a new report shows.

According to the latest Parliamentary Scorecard released by Mzalendo Trust on Tuesday, 15 members of the National Assembly, are yet to utter a word in parliament as part of their legislative role.

Some of the members also featured in the previous scorecards of the 12th Parliament as having not made a single contribution in the House.

The members are Makadara MP George Aladwa, Samuel Arama (Nakuru Town West), Oscar Sudi (Kapseret) Ernest Ogesi (Vihiga), Fred Kapondi (Mt. Elgon), Charles Gimose (Hamisi), Feisal Bader (Msambweni) and Innocent Momanyi (Bobasi).

Others on the list are Ronald Karauri (Kasarani), Mohamed Soud (Mvita), Paul Chebor (Rongai), Joseph Iraya Wainaina (Nominated), Teresia Wanjiru Mwangi (Nominated), Elizabeth Kailemia (Meru) and Muthoni Marubu (Lamu).

Notably, Oscar Sudi of the ruling UDA party, Aladwa of ODM and Jubilee's Samuel Arama also featured in previous reports of most inactive MPs.

Unlike the National Assembly, all Senators managed to contribute in plenary.

The least active members in the Senate are George Mbugua (Nominated), Issa Boy Juma (Kwale) and Shakilla Abdalla (Nominated) who made a total of 8, 10 and 12 contributions respectively in the period under review.

Others are nominated senators Mirah Abdullahi and Joyce Korir who made 14 and 12 contributions in the House each.

The most active members of the National Assembly were Dr. Makali Mulu (Kitui Central), Beatrice Elachi (Dagoretti North), James Nyikal (Seme) and Ken Chonga (Kilifi South).

"Among the issues they raised were food security, drought and conservation of the environment," Mzalendo Trust, a local Parliamentary Monitoring Organization (PMO), said.

In the Senate, the top contributors were Samson Cherargei (Nandi), Eddy Oketch (Migori), John Kinyua (Laikipia) and Mohamed Faki (Mombasa).

Some of the issues that they raised touched on land historical injustices, promotion of mental health and education for learners with disabilities.

More on News