List of six countries affected by Kenya’s new Covid-19 restrictions

Tuesday, March 9th, 2021 10:17 | By

Kenya yesterday issued new restrictions that will see travellers from six countries undergo mandatory quarantine before they are allowed in to the country in a bid to curb the spread of Covid-19.

The Kenya Civil Aviation Authority (KCAA) said the travellers will meet their own quarantine costs in the new measures which took effect yesterday.

Affected countries are Brunei, Czech Republic, Kuwait, Spain, Switzerland and Thailand.

“This notice is issued with effect from Monday 8th March 2021. Travellers from the following states and territories shall be required to undergo mandatory quarantine upon arrival in Kenya at their own cost,” KCAA said in its statement.

Flu symptoms Consequently, the travelers will also be required to be in possession of a negative PCR-based Covid-19 test result conducted within 72 hours before travel and not display any flulike symptoms upon arrival.

Further, they will be required to provide evidence of their booking for the quarantine locations 24 hours before boarding. The list of facilities for quarantining says KCAA will only be available from the government website info@

KCAA clarified that travellers from 204 countries had been exempted from the quarantine updated list.

Among the 204 countries exempted are China, Germany, Ghana, Greece, and Greenland, USA, Belgium, Democratic Republic of Congo, Australia, Austria, Canada, Finland, France, Uganda and Ethiopia.

The move comes after Kenya announced that all Kenyans coming back from Tanzania would have to undergo the mandatory 14 days quarantine at the port of entry before being allowed in.

The in-bound citizens would also have to undergo a compulsory coronavirus test to be declared safe to enter the country

More on News