Matiang’i imposes dusk to dawn curfew in 3 Rift Valley counties

Wednesday, June 8th, 2022 16:50 | By
Interior CS Fred Matiang'i and other top police officers when they visited Tot, Elkeyo Marakwet County. PHOTO/Courtesy

Interior Cabinet Secretary (CS) Fred Matiang'i has announced a 30-day dusk-to-dawn curfew in parts of Elgeyo Marakwet, Baringo and West Pokot Counties.

While making the announcement after visiting the region, Matiang'i said the curfew will allow security agencies to deal with increased banditry and deadly conflicts in the area.

“This Order shall apply during the hours of 6.00 pm and 6.00 a.m. with effect from 4th June 2022 and shall remain in effect for a period of 30," the notice read in part.

He added: “We are beginning to draw two critical exercises that we want to do which include reorganizing deployment in that area and declaration of a curfew,” Matiang'i said.

At the same time, the Interior CS announced a massive disarmament operation in the region.

He said the curfew imposed in Marsabit County has largely been successful.

Curfew period

During the curfew period, there will be no public gatherings, processions or movement either alone or as a group.

Those exempted from the curfew include national security, administration, public health and sanitation officers in the County Governments, licensed pharmaceutical companies, pharmacies, and drug stores, and licensed broadcasters and media houses.

Others are Kenya Revenue Authority personnel, Kenya Airports Authority and Licensed Civil Aviation Services Providers, Kenya Civil Aviation Authority, Kenya Airways PLC, Kenya Ports Authority and Licensed Ports Operators, Power production and distribution companies, water service providers and food and farm produce processors, distributors, distributor sales, retailers and transporters.

Licensed supermarkets, minimarkets and hypermarkets, licensed distributors, licensed banks, financial institutions, payment financial services, fire brigade and emergency response service, licensed security firms, Postal and Courier Services and Advocates of the High Court of Kenya are also exempted.

In Marakwet East Sub-County, the curfew will affect entire Tot Ward composed of Kaben, Endo, Talai, Koibirir, Kibiriem, Sibow, Mokoro and Ketut.

The entire Chesongoch Ward composed of Murkutwo, Chechan, Chemwonyo, Kibaimw, Mon and Kiptimbur will also be affected.

Tirap Ward of Kipchumwa and Embobut and Kapyego Ward of Kapyego will be affected. In Marakwet West Sub-County, Arror Ward’s Chesuman will be affected.

In Baringo, Tiaty West and East, Baringo North Sub-County composed of Bartabwa Ward’s Ngorora, Kinyach, Saimosoi’s Sibiloi, Yatia will be affected.

In West Pokot, Pokot Central Sub-County’s Chesegon Ward of Cheptulel and Sigor Ward’s Masoi will be affected.

More on News