Mohamed Maalim takes over from George Natembeya as Rift Valley Regional Commissioner

Thursday, January 13th, 2022 11:32 | By
Former Rift Valley Regional Commissioner George Natembeya. PHOTO/COURTESY

The Rift Valley Regional Commissioner who resigned on Wednesday has been replaced by the Makueni County Commissioner, Mohammed Ahmed Maalim.

Natembeya, 51, resigned after 26 years of public service to focus on his bid for the Trans Nzoia governorship.

Maalim's promotion was announced in a letter signed by Interior Principal Secretary Karanja Kibicho which has also transferred a total of 24 commissioners. Kibicho said the transfers were agreed upon and took effect immediately.

In the transfers, Nairobi Regional Commissioner James Kianda has been transferred to North Eastern in the same capacity. Kianda will be replaced by William Kangethe Thuku who has been moved from the Office of the President, Harambee House.

Kianda replaces former National Intelligence Service (NIS) officer who has been transferred to the Office of the President, Harambee House.

The new Western Commissioner is Isaiah Aregai Nakoru who has been moved from Eastern where he has been replaced by Evans Achoki, the former Narok County Commissioner who has been promoted. The new Narok County Commissioner is Isaac Wanyonyi Masinde, a senior deputy secretary at the Office of the President.

Nakoru replaces Esther Wamuyu Maina who has been moved to Central. Wilfred Agage Nyangwanga who was in Central has been moved to OOP, Harambee House.

Lukas Katee Mwanza, a Senior Deputy Secretary at OOP has been moved to Mombasa where he replaces Gilbert Kitiyo Benjamin who has been moved to Makueni. Rhoda Nyaboke Onyancha has been moved from Taita Taveta to Machakos where he replaces John Otieno Ondego who has been moved to Kakamega.

Embu Commissioner Abdulla Galgalo Hiddi has been moved to Nyeri where he replaces Loyford Ephuntus Kibaara who has been moved to Taita Taveta. The new Embu commissioner is Eddyson Haro Nyale who has been moved from Harambee House.

Samburu commissioner Abdirisack Jaldesa has swapped positions with his Baringo counterpart, Henry Orawo Wafula.

Elgeyo Marakwet’s Ahamed Omar Ahmed has also swapped positions with his Busia counterpart, John Kipngetich Korir.

Jesse Ochillo Oyugi has been moved from Vihiga to Harambee House. Oyugi has been replaced by John Otieno Odhiambo who was the senior deputy county commissioner Samburu Central.

Pauline Anyango Dola has been transferred from Kakamega to Nyanza as the Nyanza commissioner’s personal assistant.

More on News