National Dialogue Committee invites public views on talks

Friday, September 1st, 2023 18:59 | By
The National Dialogue Committee co-chairs Kalonzo Musyoka and Kimani Ichung'wah
The National Dialogue Committee co-chairs Kalonzo Musyoka and Kimani Ichung'wah. PHOTO/@KIMANIICHUNGWAH/X

The National Dialogue Committee has invited public members to give their views on the agenda of the ongoing dialogue between Kenya Kwanza and Azimio la Umoja-One Kenya coalition party.

In a statement, National Dialogue Committee co-chair Kimani Iching'wah said that they have written to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) selection panel.

"Embracing the principles of public participation, members of the public have been invited to submit their memoranda. This inclusive approach aims to foster meaningful dialogue," Ichung'wah stated.

"The National Dialogue Committee established a prioritized agenda for discussions. Also the committee has written to the IEBC selection panel and the multi-sectoral working group on the two-thirds gender rule regarding IEBC and the 2/3 rule that forms part of the dialogue agenda."

National Dialogue Committee agenda

This comes a day after Kenya Kwanza and Azimio inked a dialogue deal that will define the agenda of the dialogue.

In individual statements shared by co-chairs of the National Dialogue Committee Ichung'wah and Kalonzo Musyoka, the two leaders said the pact marked the beginning of peaceful and constructive negotiations.

"Honesty, openness and integrity is the foundation of true dialogue and that is what we are fostering here at the Bomas of Kenya with fellow Leaders of the National Dialogue Committee Co-chaired with Kimani Ichung'wah. We have been able to make strides that will guide our process of negotiations in the next 59 days," Kalonzo stated.

The committee is set to hold talks on two-thirds gender rule, the cost of living, fidelity to political parties and coalitions, entrenching political party funds into the constitution, and establishment of the official leader of the opposition office and the office of prime cabinet secretary.

More on News