February 29, 2024: Top news events to look out for today

Thursday, February 29th, 2024 07:00 | By
Deputy President Gachagua. PHOTO/Print
Deputy President Gachagua. PHOTO/Print

Here is what you need to know to get up to speed with today's happenings.

Budget and Appropriation Committee meeting

The Budget and Appropriation Committee will today address the press from 11 am.

The purpose of the press briefing which will be held at Hilton Garden Inn is to give an update on the 2024 Budget Policy Statement.

Kenya Tea report

Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua is today expected to preside over the release of Kenya Tea Report, 2023.

The event will be held at the Tea Board of Kenya Offices situated Off Ngong Road in Nairobi from 7 am.

Senate Committee on Education

The Senate Committee on Education is today scheduled to convene a meeting with the Council of Governors Committee on Education.

The meeting will be held in Committee Room 5, Main Parliament Building from noon.

Nairobi MOA sacco meeting

The Nairobi MOA saccos and Co leadership meeting is scheduled for today from noon.

The meeting which will be held at the Sagret Hotel in Nairobi will be attended by the MOA President, traffic officers, EACC officials and the entire Nairobi Saccos leadership.


Eight counties are today expected to experience blackout, Kenya Power has confirmed.

In a statement shared on the evening of Wednesday, February 28, 2024, the utility company said the power interruption is necessary to facilitate maintenance and upgrade power lines to the network.

Counties that will be affected include; Nairobi, Kajiado, Uasin Gishu, Elgeyo Marakwet, Bungoma, Kiambu, Mombasa and Embu.

Nairobi areas that will be affected include Mwithirithia, Muigai Street, Kiriri, Mwihoko Barracks, CCK, Delta and Amikev Petrol Stns, Finance, Dykan, St. Kizito & adjacent customers.

Runda areas that will also be affected in Nairobi include; Ruaka Groove, Runda Groove, Runda Rd, Eluid Mathu, Runda Riviera, Puffin Drive, Pan Africa Insurance, Runda Mumwe, Glory Rd, Mimosa Ridge, Mimosa Groove, Mimosa Drive, Mimosa Rd, Mimosa Vale, Mae Ridge, Andrew & Elia Zagoritis, Part of Northern Bypass, Runda Water, Two Rivers & adjacent customers.

The areas will be affected from 9 am to 5 pm.

In Kajiado the blackout will affect the Ilpososat area which includes Kyriako Tobiko, Perris Tobiko, Kwa Naserian, Kwa Dan, Ole Ngitila & adjacent customers.

The areas will be affected from 9 am to 5 pm.

In Uasin Gishu, parts of Eldoret City in Uasin Gishu County will experience a blackout from 9 am to 3 pm. Other areas include; Tebeclan near Cereal, Kamukunji Est, Kamukunji Pri, Kibulgeny, Part of Block 10 & adjacent customers.

Parts of Kiambu county that will be affected include; parts of Muthithi and Njathaini.

The areas that will be affected include; Muthithi Gardens, Picken Est, Riverview Est, Limuru, Silver Garden, Starehe Girls, Windsor Pump, Double Tree Est, Kirima Tent, Ngomongo & adjacent customers.

Parts of BTL, Prisons and Superfoam that will be affected include; BTL Police, Kenya Tents, Ruiru Prison, Redland Roses, Part of OJ, Shell OJ Petrol Stn, Membley Riverside, Part of Sweet Water, Little More, Part of Tatu City, Crawford International Sch, Hardy Kenya & adjacent customers.

Parts of Munyu, Kamuthi and Nyacaba that will be in blackout from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm. The affected areas include; Kangoki, Munyu Girls, Maria Magdalene, Komo, Farainya, Magajo Pri, Magana Pri, Kwa Ngiriki, Tushauriane, Mbagathi, Gathanji, Muthara, St. Georges, Nyacaba Sec, Nyacaba Police, Kimuchu, Kwa Magu, Muthara, Safaricom Booster Muthara, Rurie, Budthia Quarry, Kalimoni Hosp, Magic Stone Quarry & adjacent customers.

In Mombasa, Bombolulu and VOK areas will be affected from 9 am to 5 pm. The specific areas that will be affected include; Harambee Est, Kisumu Ndogo, Shauri Yako, Old Mugoya, VoK, Khadija Pri, Kisauni Polytechnic, Frere Town, Bombolulu Workshop, Ziwa la Ngombe, Sheikh Zayeed, Jasmina Waters, Bandari Villa, Mbungoni, Bakarani Kwa Mbuthia & adjacent customers.

In Elgeyo Marakwet, areas such as Chepkorio, Kaptarakwa, Kuresia & adjacent customers will not have electricity supply from 9.30 am to 5 pm.

Similarly in Bungoma county, areas such as Kakimanyi Village, Lufwindiri, Nzoia Mkt, Mongonye, St. Paul & adjacent customers will not have electricity supply from 9 am to 2 pm.

More on News