Gra*sroots elections to proceed as planned in 9 Counties – ODM

Tuesday, April 23rd, 2024 12:47 | By
Senator Sifuna protests 3-year closure of Uhuru Park in letter to Duale
ODM Secretary General Edwin Sifuna. PHOTO/@TheODMparty/X

The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party has confirmed that their grassroots elections will go on as planned. 

Through its top election organ, the Orange party has given the latest guidelines on its upcoming polls, which will be done first in nine counties. 

"The National Elections Coordinating Committee (NECC) is mandated under Article 61 of the Party Constitution to plan, organize, direct, conduct, supervise, and/or coordinate party elections and nominations of candidates, which includes the party grassroots elections.

"In addition to the notice dated April 5, 2024, on the aforementioned subject and the resolution of the National Governing Council (NGC) of April 18, 2021, the National Elections Coordinating Committee (NECC) wishes to announce the following: 

"That the first phase of the grassroots elections will proceed as planned in the following counties: a) Saturday, April 27, 2024; Kwale, Busia, and Siaya Counties; b) Monday, April 29, 2024; Kajiado, Migori, and Wajir Counties; and c) Tuesday, April 8, 2024: Kisii, Vihiga, and Murang'a Counties," ODM announced on Tuesday, April 23, 2024. 


Apart from confirming the dates and counties on which the polls will be conducted, the party also revealed the positions that are up for grabs. 

"There'll be elections of thirty (30) party officials, 10 each from the three (3) committees at each polling unit, namely the Mainstream, Women's League, and Youth League.

"That the positions to be contested in the mainstream category shall include the chairperson, vice chairperson, secretary, organizing secretary, treasurer, women leader, youth leader, and three (3) committee members. 

"That the positions to be contested in the Women and Youth League categories shall include chairperson, secretary, organizing secretary and their deputies, treasurer, and three (3) committee members," the statement added.

ODM Leader Raila Odinga
ODM Leader Raila Odinga. PHOTO/@RailaOdinga/X

The timelines and manner in which the elections will be held have been clarified by ODM.

"That the election methods to be used shall include consensus or voting by a show of hands. That the elections will be conducted between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. on the day of the election. 

"Members are encouraged to read and acquaint themselves with the guidelines for grassroots elections. That the Board shall, in due course, announce the schedule of the remaining counties," it added.

As mandated by the Political Parties Act, the parties in the country are expected to conduct their internal elections this year.

More on News