ODM, UDA parties reap big in Kajiado as Jubilee fails to shine

Monday, August 15th, 2022 01:40 | By
Kajiado Governor Joseph Lenku at a past event. PHOTO/Courtesy
Kajiado Governor Joseph Lenku at a past event. PHOTO/Courtesy

The August 9 polls in Kajiado County were reduced to an ODM and UDA affair after the ruling Jubilee party failed to shine.

ODM party managed to secure three MP seats, and eight Member of County Assembly (MCA) seats while UDA bagged two constituencies, 13 MCA positions, Senator and Woman Representative seats.

Jubilee party only managed to win two MCA seats in the Tuesday, August 9, polls.

The MPs elect include Samuel Parashina(ODM), Elija Memusi (ODM), Kakuta Maimai (ODM), Onesmus Ngogoyo(UDA) and George Sunkuiya (UDA), who won the Kajiado South, Kajiado Central, Kajiado East, Kajiado North and Kajiado West races respectively.

Sunkuiya was reelected for a second term while Memusi got a third term.

Parashina and Kakuta were making their second attempt in politics, Ngogoyo was a Jubilee nominated MCA between 2017 and 2022.

While Azimio presidential candidate Raila Odinga got more votes in the largely cosmopolitan County followed by William Ruto of Kenya Kwanza, the latter bagged a majority of seats at 17 out of the 33 elective seats. ODM bagged 12 seats with Wiper and Jubilee getting two seats each.

Jubilee 2017 record

In 2017, Jubilee won four out five MP seats, woman MP, senate seat and the majority of MCA seats.

The 2022 polls are now perceived as a big blow to the party. The ruling party attracted uproar from candidates who were eyeing various seats after its leadership settled on the consensus method to drop some aspirants during the party primaries.

Its candidates who had heavily invested in campaign material protested that the exercise was not transparent and candidates settled on were allegedly the choice of the party's top cream and not popular among the electorate.

Jubilee candidate Joseph Nkedienye, who is the former county chief, emerged third with 75,337 votes compared to the winner Joseph Ole Lenku(ODM) and Katoo Ole Metito(UDA) who garnered 117,600 and 111,725 votes respectively.

Poor performance by Jubilee was reflected in the relatively low votes its candidates garnered. For instance, in Kajiado East parliamentary seats its candidate Marina Kelly only bagged 5,321 votes against the ODM winner who garnered 28,730.

More on News