Ruto meets Uhuru’s Cabinet Secretaries

Monday, October 3rd, 2022 14:50 | By
President William Ruto with outgoing Cabinet Secretaries in a meeting in State House Nairobi. PHOTO/(State House)/Facebook

President William Ruto on Monday, October 3, 2022, held a meeting with outgoing Cabinet Secretaries at State House, Nairobi.

This is the second time he is meeting the heads of various ministries since taking over from his predecessor Uhuru Kenyatta following the outcome of the August 9 general election.

CSs present

The Cabinet Secretaries who attended the meeting include; Peter Munya (Agriculture), Mutahi Kagwe (Health), Monica Juma (Energy), Simon Chelugui (Labour) and Najib Balala (Tourism).

Others were George Magoha (Education), Amina Mohamed (Sports) Ukur Yatani (Treasury), Margaret Kobia ( Public Service), Rachel Omamo (Foreign Affairs), and Joe Mucheru (ICT) among others.

It was not immediately established the agenda of their meeting was as it came before Ruto's nominees are approved by the parliament.

This comes barely a week after the Head of State unveiled his 22-member Cabinet.

Ruto's Cabinet

Notably, the president retained only one Cabinet Secretary from Uhuru's administration (Simon Chelugui). Chelugui, if approved by the parliament, will now head Co-operative and SMEs.

Others who were nominated for appointment include;

Musalia Mudavadi (Prime Cabinet Secretary), Prof. Kithure Kindiki (Interior), Prof. Njuguna Ndungu (National Treasury), Aisha Jumwa (Public Service and Gender), and Aden Duale (Defence).

Kandara Member of Parliament Alice Wahome was nominated as Water and Sanitation CS while Alfred Mutua will become the Foreign Affairs CS if approved.

President William Ruto. 
President William Ruto.

Former Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria and Ruto’s ally was nominated to lead Trade and Investment ministry as Kipchumba Murkomen of Elgeyo Marakwet warms up to become Road, Transport, and Public Works Cabinet Secretary.

East African Community ministry will be headed by Rebecca Miano as Roselinda Soipan Tuiya hopes to become the Environment and Forestry CS.

Others in Ruto’s Cabinet are Mwangi Njeru (Lands and Housing), Penina Malonza (Tourism and Wildlife), Mithika Linturi (Agriculture and Livestock), and Susan Wafula (Health).

ICT, Education, Energy and Petroleum, Sports, Mining and Blue Economy, and Labour will be headed by Eliud Owalo, Ezekiel Machogu, Davis Chirchir, Ababu Namwamba, Salim Mvurya, and Florence Bore respectively.

Justine Muturi and Mercy Wanjau have been nominated to be Attorney General and Secretary to the Cabinet respectively in Ruto’s administration.

More on News