Pick leaders of minority, let us not have unnecessary contest – Ruto tells Raila’s Azimio

Saturday, September 17th, 2022 19:33 | By
William Ruto. PHOTO/Courtesy

President William Ruto has now asked Azimio la Umoja-One Kenya coalition to pick leaders of the minority.

Speaking during a Kenya Kwanza parliamentary retreat session in Naivasha, Nakuru County, the Commander-in-chief affirmed that Raila's Azimio La Umoja-One Kenya coalition will choose leaders of the minority adding that there was no need for an 'unnecessary' contest.

"Our friends on the other side (Azimio) will choose the leaders of the minority because they are the minority. They just have to live with reality. Let us not have an unnecessary contest," he stated.

The two coalitions (Kenya Kwanza and Azimio) have all laid claim to the majority positions in parliament. Azimio remains incessant that their coalition party is the majority party in the National Assembly, a claim that the ruling coalition has laughed off.

Kenya Kwanza, Azimio nominate MPs to majority leadership positions

Ruto's Kenya Kwanza coalition picked Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichungwah as the National Assembly Majority Leader.

South Mugirango MP Silvanus Osoro was picked as the coalition's Majority Whip.

Kilifi North MP Owen Baya was selected to deputize Ichungwah while Marsabit Woman Representative while Naomi Waqo takes up the Deputy Majority Whip position.

In the Senate, the ruling coalition picked Kericho senator Aaron Cheruiyot as the Majority Leader.

Cheruiyot will be deputized by Nakuru Senator Tabitha Karanja alias Keroche.

Kakamega Senator Boni Khalwahle was selected to occupy the Majority Whip position with Samburu Senator Lelegwe Ltumbesi as his deputy.

Azimio on the other hand had selected Ugunja MP Opiyo Wandayi to take up the majority leader position. Wandayi will be deputized by Kathiani MP Robert Mbui.

The coalition settled on Suna East MP Junet Mohammed as the majority whip with nominated MP Sabina Chege as his deputy.

In the Senate, Kalonzo stated that they are cognizant of the fact that they are the minority and have therefore settled on senators to occupy the minority leadership benches,

Kilifi Senator Stewart Madzayo was settled on as the minority leader with Kitui Senator Enoch Wambua as his deputy.

The coalition also picked Isiolo Senator Fatuma Dullo as the minority whip with Nairobi Senator Edwin Sifuna as her deputy.

More on News