Ruto triggers by-elections after nominating 3 legislators to Cabinet

Tuesday, September 27th, 2022 19:13 | By
From left: Aden Duale, President William Ruto, and Kipchumba Murkomen. PHOTO/Courtesy

President William Ruto on Tuesday, September 27 nominated three sitting legislators to serve in his Cabinet triggering by-elections.

Among those who were nominated are Senator Kipchumba Murkomen, Garissa Town Member of Parliament (MP) Aden Duale, and Kandara MP Alice Wahome.

Murkomen is now Cabinet Secretary (CS) nominee for Roads, Transport, and Public Works while Duale has been named as CS for Defence.

Wahome, who was serving her third as MP, has been nominated as CS for Water and Sanitation.

Ruto loyalists

The three now join Senator Moses Wetangula who was elected as the Speaker of the National Assembly, therefore, necessitating a by-election to pick a new senator to represent the people of Bungoma in the Senate.

Murkomen has served as Elkeyo Karakwet Senator since 2013.

Duale on the other hand has been an MP for Garissa Town since 2007.

"This afternoon I received the news of my nomination as the next Cabinet Secretary for Defence with much honour, joy and humility. I am indeed humbled for the opportunity to serve the people of Kenya as Cabinet Secretary for Defence.

"I thank you My President for your belief in my leadership and for bestowing me with this noble opportunity. Indeed, our paths with you Your Excellency met in 2007 and since then our stars have shone brighter and brighter," Duale said in his acceptance statement.

More on News