Safari Sevens to be inducted in African series

Tuesday, September 20th, 2022 06:20 | By
Rugby players in action. PHOTO/Courtesy.

It will not be business as usual in the next edition of the annual Safari Sevens rugby tournament in Nairobi next month.

The crowd-pulling event has been inducted as part of the eight-team, six-legged African 7s series.

After failed attempts to have the Premier Africa sevens tournament also known as the Robert Cahill trophy inducted in the HSBC world Sevens series, the prayers of Kenya Sevens management, fans and Safari sevens followers prayers’ have been answered.

The eight participating countries include Kenya, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Nigeria, Ghana, Madagascar and Botswana.

Kenya is a core member of the global 7s series where they finished 12th in August after Los Angeles 7s before duplicating their 12th finish in the Rugby World Cup 7s where Uganda and Zimbabwe were also contenders.

Uganda, then the Africa Cup sevens defending champions , won the Bowl for a 17th finish after vanquishing Germany 19-12.

On the other hand, Zimbabwe avoided the wooden spoon by beating Jamaica 31-17 to finish 23rd in the 24-team men’s Rugby World Cup 7s that was held early this month.

The maiden continental rugby 7s championship that is envisaged to grow in numbers should Senegal, Tunisia and the rest raise their hands as potential hosts.

 It is an equivalent to the global World Rugby Sevens Series where Kenya took the 12th slot.Kenya Rugby Union vice chairman Moses Ndale has confirmed the developments, adding talks are ongoing between the eight nations on the finer details.

 “The eight interested parties are still in talks to chart the way forward because there is likelihood that more teams could join us. Funding is the main topic, so I cannot confirm the kick off only that the Safari Sevens is now part of the African series.” KRU vice chairman Moses Ndale told People Sport.

South Africa is not among the participating countries and were expected to offer stiff challenges in a development that leaves Kenya to Uganda and Zimbabwe as the potential titlists.

The incoming continental tournament will be kicked off by Uganda through their tourney dubbed the Great Lakes 7s while Kenya through the Safari sevens will get the honours to host the second leg.

After the second leg in Nairobi, the Southern African sub-region will host the next two events in Zimbabwe and Zambia. West Africa will be the fifth stop that will be hosted by Nigeria before the final stop in West Africa in Accra, Ghana.

More on News