Sakaja to unveil long-awaited Cabinet members this week

Tuesday, October 4th, 2022 07:00 | By
Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja with his deputy James Muchiri. PD/PHILLIP KAMAKYA

Nairobi residents will this week know the new faces in Governor Johnson Sakaja’s Cabinet.

Sakaja said his Cabinet will consist of individuals who are well conversant with the needs of city residents.

 “Now we have our MCAs sworn in, everything is in place to ensure our government is running. The individuals I am going to appoint are people who understand this city well. People who will make Nairobi a city of order,” he said. Some of the issues Sakaja said his Cabinet would look into is the hawking menace.

 Sakaja said his Cabinet will be tasked to come up with ways of how each hawker will be given a specific number as well as designing areas where they will do their business.

“We want to ensure every city resident obeys the law. The best way to do this is to come up with policies that will guide everyone. Once we have put in proper policies, no one will ever complain of harassment by our enforcement officers,” he said.

At the same time, Sakaja said his administration will work closely with members of Kenya Defence Forces in some dockets.  “I must say we have had this discussion with the Head of State. We are going to enter into a framework with the military and we will work with them when needed,” Sakaja said.

Some changes

Current Cabinet was named by former Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko in 2017 and some changes were made by his predecessor Ann Kananu.

 However, prior to Sonko’s  impeachment in December 2020, his reign was rocked by numerous reshuffles of the Cabinet.  Current Cabinet consists of Winfred Gathagu (Commerce, Tourism and Cooperatives and  Lands and Housing department in an acting capacity.  Larry Wambua (Environment, Water and Sanitation and Devolution  in acting capacity).

 Lucia Mulwa (Food and Agriculture and acting  in Education and Sports).

Hitan Majevdia (Health), Allan Igambi (Finance and Economic Planning), Newton Munene (ICT) and Mohamed Dagane (Roads, Transport and Public Works).

Others were Charles Kerich (Lands and Housing), Veska Kangogo (Devolution and Public Service) and Janet Ouko (Education and Sports).

More on News