Shujaa land Australia, Uganda in C*mmonwealth Games

Saturday, July 9th, 2022 11:39 | By
Kenya Rugby Sevens, Shujaa. PHOTO/Courtesy
Kenya Rugby Sevens, Shujaa. PHOTO/Courtesy

The national sevens rugby team, Shujaa, have been drawn in pool D of the 2022 Commonwealth Games that kick off from July 28 in Birmingham, United Kingdom. 

Shujaa will be up against neighbours Uganda, Jamaica  and heavyweights Australia. 

Kenya and Uganda once again will be renewing their rivalry in the 16-team tournament when the rugby tournament kicks off on July 29.

In April, the Ugandans stunned Shujaa when they beat them in the semi final of the Africa 7s Cup held in Kampala to book their spot at the Games.

Pool A will be tough as it has 2018 Gold medal winners New Zealand alongside England, Samoa and Sri Lanka.

South Africa are in Pool B together with Scotland, Tonga and Malaysia. Pool C will see Fiji battle out with  Canada, Wales and Zambia.

Commonwealth Games Pools and fixture dates:

Pool A: New Zealand, England, Samoa, Sri Lanka

Pool B: South Africa, Scotland, Tonga, Malaysia

Pool C: Fiji, Canada, Wales, Zambia,

Pool D: Australia, Kenya 7s, Uganda, Jamaica

Friday July 29

9:00-13:30 - Women's and Men's Pool matches

17:30-22:00 - Women's and Men's Pool matches

Saturday July 30

9:00-13:30 Women's and Men's Pool matches

17:30-22:30 Women's and Men's placing matches, Women's Semi Finals and Men's Quarter finals

Sunday July 31

11:00-14:30 Men's semi-finals & placing matches

18:030-22:00 - Women's & Men's final placing matches

More on Sports