Stage set as 20 teams register for Embu Sevens

Thursday, June 8th, 2023 02:00 | By
Impala Saracens outside-centre Israel Soi in action during a past Sevens Series match. PD/ ALEX NJUE

The stage is set for the much awaited Embu Sevens with the tournament taking place this weekend at the Embu ASK Showground in Njukiri.

Already 20 teams have confirmed their participation with the organisers revealing this year’s edition will also include primary and secondary school rugby teams.

The organisers also noted that four primary and secondary school teams have confirmed participation with the pools of the confirmed elite teams released.

Participating teams will be seeking to flex muscles ahead of the National 7s Circuit whose kick-off is penciled for late June.

Defending Champions Strathmore Leos will spearhead a strong contingent in Pool A that features Meru RFC, Kabarak RFC, and Kabete Stallions.

In Pool B, Menengai Oilers will be up against Kirinyaga Stallions, Northern Suburbs, and NYS Spades.

Pool C will see Bungoma and Kisii 7s champions Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology lock horns with Kenya Cup side Nondies RFC, Rongai Morans, and Mwea Eagles.

Great Rift 10s aside hosts and runners-up Nakuru RFC are in Pool D alongside hosts Embu RFC, Presbyterian University, and Strathmore Catullus.

Nakuru RFC will be keen to clinch the final title after losing 24-12 against KCB RFC in the Nakuru 10s aside finals.

Catholic Monks who recently dropped to the Championship league are in Pool E together with Oscar Okaron’s charges; Administration Police, Chuka Vikings, and Menengai Zuri.

On the same breath, the famous Masaku 7s which was set to make a comeback after seven years in the cold has been postponed.

Masaku 7s was scheduled for the same dates as Embu 7s; June 10 and 11 at the Machakos Golf Club, but it has been postponed to a later date.

More on News