Uhuru hands over instruments of power to Ruto

Tuesday, September 13th, 2022 13:12 | By
Uhuru hands over instruments of power to Ruto
Outgoing President Uhuru Kenyatta hands over instruments of power to his successor William Ruto. PHOTO/Courtesy

Outgoing President Uhuru Kenyatta on Tuesday, September 13, handed over instruments of power to his successor William Ruto at a colourful ceremony held at the Kasarani stadium in Nairobi.

The handover ceremony followed Ruto's inauguration as Kenya's fifth President.

Uhuru hands over power

The instruments of power include the Kenyan constitution and the presidential ceremonial sword.

Uhuru was escorted by Robert Kibochi, the Chief of Defence Forces of the Kenya Defence Forces and outgoing First Lady Margaret Kenyatta.

The change of guard was witnessed by 20 African heads of state.

Ruto wins presidency

Ruto, 55, defeated long-serving opposition leader Raila Odinga and three others in the polls conducted on August 9, 2022.

Raila challenged Ruto's election at the Supreme Court but the case was dismissed on September 5, paving way for Ruto's swearing-in.

Reacting to the judgement Raila said: "We have taken note of the decision of the Supreme Court on the Presidential election held on August 9th, 2022. We have always stood for the rule of law and the constitution. In this regard, we respect the opinion of the court although we vehemently disagree with their decision today."

The former prime minister maintained that the August 9 presidential poll was not credible.

"Our lawyers proffered irrefutable evidence and the facts were on our side, unfortunately, the judges saw it otherwise. We find it incredible that the judges found against us on all nine (9) grounds and occasions resulted in unduly exaggerated language to refute our claims," he added.

"This judgement is by no means the end of our movement, in fact, it inspires us to redouble our efforts to transform this country into a prosperous democracy where each and every Kenyan can find their full belonging."

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Chairman Wafula Chebukati had, on August 15, 2022, declared that Ruto won the election with 7,176, 141 votes, which is 50.49% of the total votes cast against Raila's 6, 942, 930 votes (48.85%).

More on News