Union of Civil Servants picks new Secretary General

Sunday, September 5th, 2021 17:37 | By
Union of Civil Servants (UKCS) secretary-general Tom Odege. PHOTO/FILE

By Kepher Otieno

Union of Civil Servants (UKCS) has reelected Tom Odege as the new secretary-general.

In a highly guarded election held in the Tom Mboya Labour College hall in Kisumu, the retuning officer Boaz Musando declared Odege as the new secretary-general for the third time in a row.

In his speech, Odenge vowed to embark on negotiating CBA, to push for new salary schemes for civil servants.

"Inflation is very high and we expect the government to remunerate as better, "Odege noted.

He further stated that they will push for a review of the Nhif cover.

"NhIF has proposed to cover civil servants with up to Ksh70,000 but we are saying no. We want the super cover cost increased to a bare minimum of Ksh150,00O," he added.

Odege's win comes shortly after the employment and labour relations court barred two aspirants from running.

The two, Justus Mugo of National Treasurer Justus Mugo and the deputy secretary-general Gerry Olekina were disqualified on grounds of gross misconduct one that saw them get a suspension from the union earlier this year.

At the same time, national union executive officials were also barred from balloting as delegates increasing Odege's chances of clinching the seat.

Others elected include Alisokor Mohamud as the national chairman, while Titi Mbwana took the position of the first national vice-chair as Mr Benedict Kitheka took the second vice chairman's position.

Mr Lameck Abrahams is the new first deputy secretary-general, Confat Ademba (second deputy secretary-general), Abdulmalik Ali (national treasurer), Judy Wangari (deputy national treasurer).

Other positions contested include Deputy national treasurer, national organising secretary, deputy national organising secretary, national women leader, national young worker and four national trustee members.

Mevin Nyachienga, Regina Wanjiku and Lucy Makokha were picked as National Trustees.

More on News