FKF unveils electoral board

Monday, February 19th, 2024 02:55 | By
AFC Leopards chairman Dan Shikanda is guided by a former FKF Electoral Board member on how to vote, during the federation’s last elections. PHOTO/Rodgers Ndegwa
AFC Leopards chairman Dan Shikanda is guided by a former FKF Electoral Board member on how to vote, during the federation’s last elections. PHOTO/Rodgers Ndegwa

The process to hold the eagerly awaited Footballl Kenya Federation (FKF) elections continued to gather steam after the federation unveiled the Electoral Board comprising seven members to oversee the excercise set for later this year.

In a circular sent to all FKF members including the 18 Premier League clubs and obtained by People Sport, the board will be chaired by university lecturer Hesbon Owilla with the other members being Sports Journalists Association of Kenya (SJAK) president and People Daily Sports Editor James Waindi, former AFC Leopards chairman Dan Mule, Nairobi-based lawyer Meciline Sande, communication consultant Alfred Ngang’a while former FKF vice-president Robert Asembo and Farida Lucia Juma were put on the standby list.

The board will undergo the vetting process during the federation’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) set for March 16 in Nairobi before being ratified to start their mandate for the next four years.

The statement signed by FKF CEO Barry Otieno indicated the board will now await ratification from the General Assembly.

“The members of the Electoral Board shall be proposed to the FKF National Executive Committee at the FKF General Assembly preceding the elective general assembly for ratification,” read part of the letter, adding: “The FKF NEC shall also propose to the General Assembly for ratification two substitutes.”

According to the circular, the mandate of the board as well as the two substitutes will last for four years but members will not serve for more than two terms of office, whether consecutive or not.

“If a member of the Board became a candidate for any elective FKF position, he or she will immediately become ineligible or cease his/her function respectively as a member of the board and will be replaced by the substitutes,” explained the statement, adding:

“If a member of the Board is prevented from performing his/her duties due to conflict of interest or for any other reason, he/she will be replaced.”

Along with its role to supervise the electoral process, the Electoral Board’s duties will also include, supervising the administrative relating to FKF elections and monitoring compliance with the Electoral Code as well as other electoral rules and guidelines issued by FKF as required in the performance of their duties.

Former FKF President Sam Nyamweya, who is seeking for the top seat, welcomed the board terming it a “balanced one” but warned the board against taking sides while executing their mandate.

“It is a great board, a balanced one in that matter, but my great hope is that they will conduct their duties without malice or bending the laws to suit others, especially leaning their support to the current regime,” Nyamweya told People Sports.

Former FKF and Gor Mahia CEO Lordivick Omondi Aduda, who is going for the top seat for the second successive time having lost to the current President Nick Mwendwa in the last contest, was non-committal when asked about the shortlisted list of Board members only saying: “We wait and see if the FKF General Assembly will approve the names and then we can talk from there.”

Apart from Nyamweya and Aduda other aspirants, who have already declared their interest for the top seat include Extreme Sports CEO Hussein Mohammed, current Gor Mahia CEO Sam Ocholla, Bandari FC vice-chairman Twaha Mbarak, Mombasa businessman Taufiq Balala, CFA chairman Charles Njoroge, and ex-CECAFA secretary Nicholas Musonye.

Current President Mwendwa is yet to declare whether he will defend his seat.

More on Sports