GSU fire to dominance at Bamburi Rifle Club in shooting contest

Tuesday, October 4th, 2022 10:20 | By
Alice Njuguna takes part in the shooting competition at the Bamburi Rifle Club. PD/ HARRISON KIVISU

General Service Unit GSU won the discipline forces title as the Kenya Shooting Sports Federation and Bamburi Rifle club 2022 league level three championships ended in Mombasa at the weekend.

The law enforcers garnered 195 points which came with a reward of Sh150,000.

Kenya Prisons emerged the runners-up with 156.8 points followed by Kenya Police service with 122.1 points.

Following the feat, Prisons received Sh 100,000, while Kenya Police Service went home with Sh 50,000 courtesy of the sponsor Bamburi Rifle club.

The championship attracted seven teams including Chalbi, Kenya Defence Force, Directorate of Criminal investigation (DCI), Kenya Police Services, Administration Police, National Gun Owners Association (NGao) and hosts Bamburi Rifle Club (BRC).

During the event, 2021 overall winner of the IPSC shooter Master Ibrahim Ndungu scored 1123.57 points to walk away with the bragging rights.

In the meantime, Inspector of Police Mohamed Aden scored 981.35 points to be placed second overall above Issa Issa with 968.60 points.

The ladies’ production division was won by Agatha Muchiri who scored 545.11 points with second position went to Alice Njuguna and Sharon Waruru being placed second and third with 500.58 points and 283.71 points respectively.

In the senior production division, Memba Muriuki won with 953.50 points followed by James Thuo and Gikonyo Mwangi with 691.44 and 646.41 points respectively.

In the super senior category, Mahamad Ramadhan virtually broke no sweat after returning 455.62 points.

In the standard division, Sammy Onyango emerged triumphant with 1073.77 point and was followed by Mahir Omar and Mohammed Omar with 985.03 and 877.76 points respectively.

 Elsewhere in the ladies category, Josephine Matoi emerged the winner with 617.21 points ahead of Grace Wanjiku with 478.85 points and third placed Grace Kitinya who secured 476.56 points.

The senior standard division competition went to Sammy Onyango with 1073.77 points ,second was Samuel Chacha with 936.38 points and Daniel Mutiso 909.72 points.

In the open category, Sunny Syan won with 1097.46 points. The second and third positions went to Mahir Omar with 985.03 points and Mohamed Omar with 877.76 points.

More on Sports