Harambee Stars intensify Four-Nations preparations

Sunday, March 17th, 2024 16:24 | By
Harambee Stars' training session. PHOTO/(@Harambee__Stars)/X
Harambee Stars' training session. PHOTO/(@Harambee__Stars)/X

Harambee Stars have intensified their training ahead of the Four-Nations tournament that will be held in Malawi during the upcoming FIFA international break.

The training sessions, which started on Saturday, March 16, were intensified on Sunday with an opening session in the morning.

The team in the camp is mostly made up of players who are playing for local clubs, with foreign-based ones expected from Sunday through Monday.

Harambee Stars will leave Nairobi for Malawi later this week, where they will face the three COSAFA nations, Zambia, Zimbabwe, and the host, during the tournament.

The organizers of the tournament came up with the idea to help their teams have proper preparations for their respective 2026 World Cup qualifiers.

Although they were called up, Poland-based Erick Ouma and France-based Joseph Okumu will not be available as they are suffering from injuries. This is set to give head coach Engin Firat a chance to test new players in the defensive unit.

Teddy Akumu in Harambee Stars' training session. PHOTO/(@Harambee__Stars)/X
Teddy Akumu in Harambee Stars' training session. PHOTO/(@Harambee__Stars)/X

Meanwhile, the Kenya U20 team has also been training for the fact that they will participate in a concurrent tournament for the junior sides in Malawi. The Starlets are under Kenya Police head coach Salim Babu, who will be in charge during the showpiece.

Harambee Stars' provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Ian Otieno (Zesco-Zambia), Patrick Matasi (Kenya Police), Byrne Odhiambo (Bandari), Bonphas Munyasa (Muranga Seal)

Defenders: Collins Sichenje (AIK-Sweden), Joseph Okumu (Reims-France), Johnstone Omurwa (Estrela-Portugal), Dennis Ng’ang’a (Zanaco Zambia) Daniel Anyembe (Viborg-Denmark), Amos Nondi (Ararat), Abud Omar (Kenya Police), Eric Ouma (Rakow-Poland), Alphonce Omija (Dhofar-Oman)

Midfielders: Kaycie Odhiambo (AFC Leopards), Chris Erambo (Tusker), Richard Odada (Aalborg-Denmark), Anthony Akumu (Sagan Tosu), Kenneth Muguna (Kenya Police), Eric Johanna (UTA-Romania), Rooney Onyango (Gor Mahia)

Forwards: John Avire (Sekka), Michael Olunga (Duhail-Oman), Jonah Ayunga (ST. Mirren-Scotland), Benson Omalla (Gor Mahia), Ayub Timbe (Sebail-Azerbaijan), David Sakwa (Bandari), Shariff Musa (Gor Mahia)

More on Sports