Kabeberi Sevens returns after 2 years break over coronavirus pandemic

Saturday, May 7th, 2022 02:13 | By
Kabras and Top Fry teams in action during a past Kabeberi Sevens circuit match at Impala Grounds. PHOTO/Alex Njue
Kabras and Top Fry teams in action during a past Kabeberi Sevens circuit match at Impala Grounds. PHOTO/Alex Njue

It is all systems go as the national Rugby Sevens circuit makes a comeback this month after a two-year hiatus that was occasioned by the Covid-19 pandemic.

According to the Kenya Rugby Union calendar of events, the historic Kabeberi Sevens will kick off the circuit on the 21st and 22nd of May at the RFUEA Grounds.

Mwamba RFC set the mode by twitting: “Unleash the legend! Come roar at #Kabeberi7s and shake the RFUEA Grounds once again! Time to revive the memories and the good times as we welcome sevens rugby back!”

The Kabeberi Sevens tournament is part of the six KRU rugby sevens circuits played every year. It was first played in 1986 to commemorate the passing away of the charismatic George Mwangi Kabeberi, one of the founding members of the Mwamba RFC.

Over the years, the significance of the tournament has been expanded to honour departed club members, including Leeroy Okara, Absalom “Bimbo” Mutere, Aberdeen Shikoyi, Jimmy Owino and lately Victor Wayodi among others.

It is played as part of the Kenya National Sevens series and it is one of only two events of that series that are played in Nairobi. For this reason, the Kabeberi Sevens has traditionally been the best-attended tournament in the series, with many Nairobi residents coming to the Kabeberi to watch Kenya’s world-famous Rugby Sevens stars.

 In 2013 and 2014 events it attracted over 10,000 spectators throughout the weekend.

Teams compete for the National Sevens Circuit title by accumulating points based on their finishing position in each tournament. The circuit was started in 1999.

Like in previous years, the circuit will have the traditional six rounds starting with the opening two legs of the Kabeberi and Christie Sevens before heading to Kakamega, Mombasa, Kisumu and Nakuru for the subsequent legs.

KCB won the last circuit in 2019 claiming victories in the Driftwood, Kakamega, Dala, and Christie Sevens tournaments. Mwamba tied with Homeboyz in second place as Nakuru and Impala completed the top five positions.                                                                                                                        

More on Sports