Kericho golf team crowned Johnnie Walker series champions

Monday, May 23rd, 2022 00:59 | By
Johnnie Walker Golf Series champions Erick Mutai (left), Julius Rono ,Patrick Cheruiyot and David Biegon pose with their prizes. PD/Edwin Otieno

The team of Erick Mutai, Julius Rono, Patrick Cheruiyot, and Patrick Langat from Kericho Golf Club are the champions of the Road to Gleneagles 2022 Johnnie Walker Golf Series. 

The quartet posted a remarkable 111 joint points to floor a strong field of 100 top amateur golfers from across the country who participated in the series’ grand finale that was held on Saturday at the par-72 Karen Country Club. 

For their efforts, the team clinched the tournament’s overall prize – an all-expenses-paid trip to visit and play at the iconic Gleneagles Golf Course in Scotland. 

The team fended off the challenge from Nakuru Golf Club’s team of Kuljit Sahota, Wahu Nyairo, Sajil Shah and Rahul Mesuria who came in second after scoring 110 points.  

Coming in third was Nyanza’s team of Griffins Owino, Julius Omollo, David Omollo and Elizabeth who returned 108 points, beating VetLab’s team of Priscilla Karobia, Esther Chumo, Cleopas Bor and Mark Karobia.

More on Sports