Kibet bags Sh5m after claiming victory at the Lagos City Marathon

Tuesday, February 7th, 2023 09:40 | By
Kibet bags Sh5m after claiming victory at the Lagos City Marathon
Edwin Kibet celebrates as he breaks the tape to win Lagos City marathon on Sunday. PD/COURTESY

Kenya’s Edwin Kibet on Saturday won the eighth edition of the Access Bank Lagos City Marathon, Nigeria. Kibet won the race after returning in a time of 2:14:06 to bag US$50,000 (Sh5m) prize money.

Ethiopia’s Dekeba Tafa came second in 2:14:54, while another Kenyan, Bernard Sang, came third in 2:17:14. Kibet joined the league of winners of the Kenya-dominated 42km race in 2016, 2017, 2020, and 2021.

In the women’s category, it was an all-Ethiopian affair as Alemenesh Guta won the race for the second time in 2:40:42 to follow her feat in the 2018 edition.

Urisa Kebene Chala came second in 2:40:42 while Kenya’s Naomi Maiyo came third at the 2022 edition but maintained her spot with 2:40:56 on Sunday.

Annual event

The marathon started at the National Stadium in Surulere and ended at the Eko Atlantic City in Victoria Island.

It was recently upgraded by World Athletics to a gold label, less than eight years after its maiden edition.

Since 2015 the  Lagos City Marathon has made tremendous gains, winning the World Athletics Bronze Label in 2017 to become the third marathon to achieve such a feat in the world. It achieved it just after the second edition.

Four editions

In 2019, the marathon won the Silver Label to become the first to achieve such in the world after four editions. It added another feather in 2021, winning the World Athletics Elite Running Label, and last year, it attained the Gold-label status.

In 2018, the World Athletics governing body introduced the Platinum Label for the 2020 season.

The Labels are assessed and awarded each year. Race organisers have to apply to the World Athletics for recognition, and show that their race can meet the requisite criteria.

All three categories require what the World Athletics describes as an international elite field, that requires at least five nations (four for Bronze) to be represented by runners with times faster than the World Athletics’ guidelines.

More on Sports