Amount of money World Cup winner will be paid

Saturday, December 17th, 2022 20:32 | By
Amount of money World Cup winner will be paid
France's Kylian Mbappé and Argentina's Lionel Messi. PHOTO/Courtesy

The 2022 World Cup in Qatar saw 32 national teams clash in eight respective groups from November 20, when the tournament kicked off, to December 2, when the last group matches were played.

After nearly two weeks of group action, 16 teams were eliminated from the tournament and the other 16 progressed to the knockout stages.

The remaining teams faced off in the round of 16 where eight teams were eliminated. Four more teams were eliminated in quarterfinal matches.

The semifinals saw France clash with Morocco with the latter defeated 2-0 while Argentina eased past Croatia after a comfortable 3-0 victory.

France now faces Argentina in a thrilling final to be played on December 18 at the Lusail Stadium.

Cash prize

All the 32 teams that participated in the World Cup will be rewarded by the world's football governing body FIFA based on the stages they were eliminated from the tournament.

FIFA has set aside a staggering $440 million/Ksh53.9 billion for prize payouts for the 2022 World Cup, with $42 million/Ksh5.1 billion going to the winning team.

According to FIFA, the rest of the prize purse will break down as follows;

The runner-up will earn $30 million/Ksh3.6 billion, while the third-place team will take home $27 million/Ksh3.3 billion.

The team that finishes fourth will earn $25 million/Ksh3 billion while teams finishing fifth through eighth will receive $17 million each/Ksh2 billion.

Teams that made it to the round of 16 are guaranteed $13 million/Ksh1.5 billion. While teams finishing 17th through 32nd will receive $9 million/Ksh1.1 billion apiece.

Additionally, FIFA allotted each qualified team $1.5 million/Ksh183.8 million ahead of the tournament to help cover preparation costs.

Ghana, Uruguay, Serbia, Cameroon, Canada, Belgium, Costa Rica, Germany, Denmark, Tunisia, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Wales, Iran, Ecuador and Qatar were all eliminated in the group stage.

The 16 eliminated teams will get Ksh1.1 billion apiece from FIFA on top of the Ksh183.8 million that they were each given ahead of the tournament.

More on Sports