Motorsports awards are here

Friday, January 27th, 2023 04:30 | By
Rally ace Hamza Anwar raises dust at Lisa Farm in Machakos during a recent event. PD/ PHILLIP KAMAKYA

The long wait is almost over and it’s all systems go as enthusiasts await the 2022 Annual Awards to be held at Kasarani Stadium on Saturday.

Among those to be feted in the event will be the Young siblings Zane and Chantal who emerged as the 2022 Kenya National Rally Raid Buggy Class driver and navigator Champions.

Eric Bengi and his son Eann Bengi will also be bestowed with the National Autocross Championship 4-Wheel Drive Turbo and Pee Wee Class Championship titles.

The event, which culminates with the naming of the Motor Sports Personality of the year, will also feature a segment to fete the three FIA African Rally Championship awards.

Hamza Anwar will receive his trophy as the 2022 Junior ARC champion whilst McRae Kimathi and Rio Smith will receive their titles for winning the ARC 3 and ARC4 categories respectively.

Kenya Motor Sports Federation (KMSF) Chairman Phineas Kimathi appointed a panel which is tasked with the onus of ascertaining the personality of the 2022 award.

The Panel is being chaired by Surinder Thathi who is being assisted by Faith Wathome, Ann Troughton and KMSF General Manager Mwaura Njuguna.

As is usually the norm, the episode will culminate with the naming of the Motorsports Personality-of-the-Year 2022 who will officially be incorporated into the growing list of winners who have held the coveted award from way back since 1960.

The top personality award is usually discreet and, for starters, shall only be revealed on the gala night which will be graced by several dignitaries drawn from the corporate sector and the Ministry of Sports.

In hindsight, the first two awards were won by the legendary Vic Preston Snr in 1960 and 1961 before his son Vic Preston Jnr inscribed his name on the coveted silverware in the 1977 edition.

“The panel has shortlisted a few names of the 2022 achievers and will come up with the winner who will be named the 2022 personality on the gala night,” Mwaura noted.

Among the motor personalities who racked up the fabled award are the likes of racing guru the late Joginder Singh, who was colloquially known as Simba Wa Kenya in 1976 and Ann Taeith who became the first lady not only to win a KNRC but also emerge triumphant in 1984.

Others are lady navigator Tuta Mionki in 2018, Phineas Kimathi in 2019, Ian Duncan thrice in 1987, 2003 and 2010 and Patrick Njiru twice,  in 1990 and 1996.

The chronology of events is incomplete without mention of Baldev Chager aka Boldy who emerged as the top personality of the 2007 and 2013 awards.

More on Sports