Mwamba crowned 2022 Driftwood 7s champions

Sunday, June 19th, 2022 17:50 | By
Mwamba RFC
Mwamba RFC Fans. PHOTO/Mwamba (@MwambaRFC)/ Twitter.

Nairobi-based club Mwamba RFC has won the Driftwood 7s trophy - their first title this season.

Mwamba Rugby Club edged past Menengai Oilers in a titanic clash at Mombasa Sports Club. Menengai Oilers opening try from Mark Kwemoi did not stop the Mwamba side from digging and outsmarting the Oilers coming down from 7-0 to 14-7 at the halftime break.

The gents from Nairobi, later on, sealed the deal at the end, pinning the scores at 19-7 to clinch the title.

Mwamba and Menengai Oilers met in the final of the 2022 Driftwood 7s after easing through their respective semifinal fixtures.

Eliakim Kichoi landed two unconverted tries to cancel Richel Wangila’s attempt as Mwamba claimed the 10-5 victory against Homeboyz to cruise into the final.

The second semifinal saw the Menengai Oilers starve defending champions KCB of possession en route to a 19-0 win.

Chrispin Shitundo landed a try with Amos Onyinkwa converting for a 12-0 lead at the interval before Mark Kwemoi converted Onyikwa’s try for the full-time result.

The third position in the Mombasa-based tournament went to KCB Rugby Club after claiming a comeback win over the Homeboyz Rugby, settling the scores at 21-14.

Meanwhile, Nakuru Topfry is the Challenge Trophy Driftwood Sevens winner after getting a win over Daystar Falcons in the Challenge Trophy Semifinals. The scores at the full-time hooter read Nakuru Topfry 19, Daystar Falcons 10.

Elsewhere Kenya Harlequins narrowly claimed a tough victory over Strathmore Leos in the 5th place Finals, winning 7-5.

More on Sports