Pomp, colour as Kariobangi Shark’s Erick Kapaito is crowned MVP

Tuesday, September 14th, 2021 22:59 | By
Eric Kapaito of Kariobangi Sharks (right) shields the ball from AFC Leopards’ Clyde Senaji during their Premier League match at Kasarani Stadium yesterday. Photo/PD/RODGERS NDEGWA

Kariobangi Sharks striker Erick Kapaito was on Tuesday voted as the 2020/21 Football Kenya Federation Premier League's Most Valuable Player (MVP) at an Awards gala held at the Safari Park Hotel, Nairobi.

Kapaito, was also awarded the Golden Boot award, having scored 24 goals in the just concluded season.

He beat Tusker’s Eugene Asike, Lawrence Juma, James Saruni, Henry Meja and Elvis Rupia to the coveted award, after a stellar season with Sharks.

For his heroics the Kenyan international was gifted a cash prize of Ksh500,000 for bagging the top award with Juma and Asike awarded Ksh200,000 and Ksh100,000 respectively.

Tusker coach Robert Matano won the Coach of the Year after guiding his side to their 12th league title with the brewers dominating the awards scooping five out of the 12 categories which were in contention.

Lawrence Juma of Sofapaka was named Midfielder of the Year, James Saruni the Golden Glove winner as Kariobangi Sharks won the Fairplay Team of the Year Award.

FIFA referee Peter Waweru won the Referee of the Year Award, with Mary Njoroge taking the Assistant Referee of the Year Award.

Former Harambee Starlets player, the late Rosemary Aluoch ‘Mara’ Kadondi, was feted for her contribution to the game in the President’s Award. Her only daughter was present to receive the award.

Medal of Honour

Golden Glove winner

James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars)

Defender of the Year

Eugene Asike (Tusker)

Midfielder of the Year

Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka)

Golden Boot

Eric Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks)

Young Player of the Year

Henry Meja (Tusker FC)

More on Sports