August 9

List of areas where elections will be held on August 29

Sunday, August 28th, 2022 12:44 | By
A silhouette of a voter. PHOTO/Courtesy

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) on Monday, August 22, 2022, set Monday, August 29, 2022, as the date to conduct the election in the remaining Wards, Constituencies, and Counties that had deferred elections.

The commission proposed the date during a meeting with the candidates at the Bomas of Kenya on Monday, August 22.

Prior to that, the Chebukati-led commission had earlier slated the elections for August 23, 2022, before suspending them citing insecurity.

"In view of the prevailing circumstances, the Commission has postponed the by-elections slated for 23rd August 2022, to a date to be announced through a gazette notice," Chebukati said then.

Below is a list of areas where elections will be held tomorrow (Monday, August 29, 2022);

Gubernatorial seats

  1. Mombasa County
  2. Kakamega County

Member of National Assembly contest

  1. Kitui Rural Constituency in Kitui County
  2. Kacheliba Constituency in West Pokot County
  3. Pokot South Constituency in West Pokot County
  4. Rongai Constituency in Nakuru County

Member of County Assembly Ward races

  1. Nyaki West (North Imenti Constituency) - Meru County
  2. Kwa Njenga (Embakasi South Constituency) - Nairobi County

More on August 9