Inside Politics

12 nominated to Murang’a County Assembly

Wednesday, September 14th, 2022 13:42 | By
A photo file of the Murang'a County Assembly. PHOTO/COURTESY
A photo file of the Murang'a County Assembly. PHOTO/COURTESY

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has gazetted a list of 12 people nominated to the Murang'a County Assembly.

In the list seen by People Daily Digital, the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party took a lion's share of the nomination slots, getting 11 out of the 12 seats.

The remaining seat went to the Amani National Congress (ANC) party.

Women also got the majority share of the slots, taking ten seats while two went to men.

This is to bridge the gap of gender imparity as only five women were elected to the assembly in the August 9 general election.

Murang'a County Assembly full

The nomination of the 12 brings to 47 the total number of members in the assembly. A total of 35 members were elected in the just concluded election.

Sources in the county assembly disclosed that the MCAs will be sworn in next week after the gazettement of the first sitting as required by law.

However, the elected MCAs have held several informal meetings and nominated the majority leader and the deputy, who will be confirmed after taking oath of office.

Francis Kibe from Ithiru Ward is the proposed leader of the majority. Elizabeth Mbugua will deputise him.

Earlier in the week, Murang'a Governor Irungu Kang'ata urged IEBC to fast-track the gazettement of names, saying the delays had affected the opening of the assembly.

"There is a lot of work we need to do but we have to get the approval from the assembly and the earlier we have the assembly running the better," he said.

After being sworn in, the MCAs' tasks will be to elect the House speaker. The seat has attracted five candidates.

More on Inside Politics