Limuru MP Peter Mwathi replaces late Koinange in powerful Parliament C*mmittee

Wednesday, May 5th, 2021 12:23 | By
Limuru MP Peter Mwathi. PHOTO/File
Limuru MP Peter Mwathi. PHOTO/File

Limuru MP Peter Mwathi has been elected the chairperson of the National Assembly Committee on Administration and National Security.

He replaces the late Kiambaa MP Paul Koinange who succumbed to Covid-19 in March.

MP Mwathi was unanimously endorsed for the seat after the vice-chairperson of the committee Fatuma Gedi, who had expressed interest in the seat, withdrew her candidature.

Gedi said the ODM leader Raila Odinga called her prevailed upon her to withdraw her candidature in favour of Mwathi.

Both allies of President Uhuru Kenyatta and his Handshake partner Raila had expressed interest for the seat.

Mwathi expressed his commitment and readiness to discharge his mandate diligently and also tackle pending issues.

"What is important now is to quickly tackle pending issues and check on the security situation in the country. We are calling for the first meeting next week so that we assess where we are and begin working from there," Mwathi said after being elected.

National Assembly Majority Leader Amos Kimunya confirmed Mwathi as Jubilee's preferred choice for the chairperson seat.

The MP was first elected to Parliament in 2013 after serving in the Ministry of Public Works, and the National Youth Service (NYS).

More on News